RSS

Fall Time Cozy Time Book Tag

18 Nov

Hello! It’s time for me to try a book tag. I’d like to do these once I get to making videos, so I want to try one now and see how it pans out.

This tag was created by Sam at Novels and Nonsense on youtube. Nobody tagged me, but whatevs. I’m gonna do it anyways! So here we go!

1. Crunchy Leaves: The World is full of color – choose a book that has reds/yellows/oranges on the cover
For this one, I’m going to choose Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. If you haven’t read this yet, where have you been. Go read it! You’re missing out on such a wonderful series, so much pop culture, so much well, childhood. You’re missing out on your own childhood and you don’t even realize it. GO READ IT!

2. Cozy Sweater – It’s finally cold enough to don warm cozy clothing: what book gives you the warm fuzzies?
This one is super easy. This is a book I read over and over and oooover again when I was a preteen into my late teenage years. I still occasionally pick it up and leaf through it. This is one I’m going to read to my kids whenever I have them. It’s Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine. I just get this warm feeling of ‘Ah, I’m home’ whenever I read this book. I can’t explain it. It’s as much a part of my growing up years as Harry Potter is, I think.

3. Fall Storm: The wind is howling & the rain is pounding – choose your favorite book OR genre that you like to read on a stormy day
I don’t really have anything specific I’d like to read during a storm, but I feel like any book that has a bit of weight to it will be good. Wrapped up in a blanket, fuzzy socks, coffee, and a heavy book that won’t let me get up for ages. Yes, yes yes.

4. Cool Crisp Air: What’s the coolest character you’d want to trade places with?
I think I’d like to trade places with Laurence from The Temeraire series by Naomi Novik, at during the first book. Honestly, not even specifically him. I’d just like to be in a world where I’m trained with a team to lead dragons into tactical aerial combat. I love this series, I want a dragon. Naomi Novik did her research, man.

5. Hot Apple Cider: What under hyped book do you want to see become the next biggest, hottest thing?
Maybe I missed the hype on it, but I don’t recall hearing about this series from anyone… at all. Ever. Correct me if I’m wrong. But I’m going to say Catherine Fisher’s Relic Master series. I bought this on a whim at Ollie’s Bargain outlet when they had all four volumes in hardback for like two bucks each. I recognized the author since she also wrote Incarceron, which I loved and have heard a bit of buzz about here and there. I didn’t go into the series with much expectation, but wow was I blown away. I still think about it and have to ignore urges to reread it instead of reading all the other books I’m supposed to be reading. I would definitely love to see this turned into a tv series as well. The world in it is so full of wonder. I feel like I’m right in there with the characters, hiding from the Watch or invoking the powers of a Relic. Go read this if you want a YA fantasy series to cling onto for a bit. (Note – book one is a bit slow. World building happens. It picks up so fast though towards the end of it man, holy cow)

6. Coat, Scarves, and Mittens – The weather has turned cold & it’s time to cover up – What’s the most embarrassing book cover you own that you like to keep hidden in public?
For this one, and I feel like it may be a bit of a cop-out, but I’m going to go with a manga. Specifically, volume 21 of Rurouni Kenshin by Nobuhiro Watsuki.

I don’t think I would have picked this one for this tag originally because honestly the cover isn’t bad or embarrassing or anything, but back when I was an impressionable, naive teenager, I was reading this specific volume in public when some lady saw the cover and like… covered her kid’s eyes and gave me this nasty look. Seriously. The kid was like eight, too. It took me a second to realize why she was doing it. I thought I had something on my face, but no, Kenshin is bloody on the cover. Guess who has not read Kenshin in public since! I’ve been scarred, hah.

If you like manga and have not read Rurouni Kenshin, I highly, highly HIGHLY suggest it. It’s about a swordsman in Meiji-era Japan who is trying to recover from his previous life as a manslayer during the Bakumatsu period. Basically a new form of government was trying to establish itself in Japan and the result was bloody war for years and years. The manga itself pulls a lot from the historical view points and the characters are inspired by actual revolutionists during that time.

Rurouni Kenshin is action-packed, funny, romantic, suspenseful… it’s one of my favorite manga of all time. I own all 28 volumes and I will take them with me to my grave. My grandchildren will read these, I swear it. Here is the synopsis for volume 1, to avoid spoilers from the one for volume 21, if you’re interested. You will laugh, you will cry, you will scream, it’s all just so wonderful.

7. Pumpkin Spice: What’s your favorite Fall time comforts food/foods?
Macaroni and cheese, stuffing, turkey, basically anything that has to do with Thanksgiving. (Macaroni and cheese can be eaten at thanksgiving, pbtbt). Thanksgiving I think is my second favorite holiday (first being Christmas) simply because of the food that’s there… and I suppose all the family and friends being around is really good too, but STUFFING.

8. Warm, Cozy Bonfire: Spread the cozy warmth – Who do you tag?
Considering I don’t really know anybody yet… you. 😀 Also hi, nice to meet you.


So that’s it for my first tag! I had fun doing it. Let me know how I did 😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 11/18/2014 in Books

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Aurora Librialis

Auroralibrialis

Arrvee's Book Diary

Arrvee reading this?

Mai Breaks the Ice

all my life's lessons... in a blog.

Navigating Worlds

A husband and wife adventuring through fantasy worlds together

A Sky of Books and Movies

Books & movies, art and thoughts.

Delphine's Babble on Some Good Reads

Good books, a loud silence, and a sleepy conscious is the ideal life.

flowlessbooks.wordpress.com/

Happiness is a cup of coffee and a good book

150 Characters and more...

...Because some things in life cannot be expressed with a mere 150 characters.

