RSS

February Wrap-Up

01 Mar

Welcome to my February Wrap-Up! This month, I read two novels and three manga. Not a wonderful reading month for me – my course work this semester is insane. You probably don’t care, but it seems like all my professors are in cahoots. They all make things due on the same day. It’s butts.

BUTT ANYWAYS, THE BOOKS. THE IMPORTANT BITS.

The Restaurant at the End of the Universe (Hitchhiker's Guide, #2)The first thing I completed this month was The Restaurant at the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams. This is the second book in the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series, and man, I think I loved this one more than the first one, and I really really loved the first one. Douglas Adam’s humor just clicks with me. It’s just perfect. I have probably mentioned before, but this series for me is being read very sparingly because my SO and I are reading it out loud to each other. So, it only gets read a chapter or two at a time, and only when we’re both free to do so. I think it makes it all the more enjoyable, because his voice is just perfect for this book. But anyways, I love this series, partially because of the series itself, and partly because of the memories I’m making while reading it. I hope to get through the rest of them as well. 😀

The second book I read was The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness. This is the second book in the Chaos Walking Trilogy, and I actually wrote a full review on it, which can be found here. I really enjoyed this book, and am currently reading the third one. I know my TBR Jar Challenge for the month was to finish a series, and I had chosen this one to do that… well, I didn’t finish the third one. (I did complete a different series, but I’ll get to that in a moment). I highly recommend checking this series out if you haven’t already. The premise of it alone was enough to pull me in, and the writing after that kept me there.

The third and fourth things I read were volumes 1 and 2 of Rurouni Kenshin Restoration. This is the series that completes my ‘finish a series’ challenge. I also wrote a review on this series, if you’re interested. This series is a condensed retelling of the 28 volume series Rurouni Kenshin by Nobuhiro Watsuki. This series is fantastic, and the retelling was pretty damn decent as well. This is a historical action manga set in the Meiji Era of Japan. If you’re at all interested in this, read the original 28 volume one first, or you’ll be confused as hell.

Saiyuki, Vol. 1And the last thing I finished was volume 1 of Saiyuki by Kazuya Minekura. This, I borrowed from my sister, who is lovely. This is the first of a nine volume series that deals with demons and science and humor and action and feels. It follows four characters, a buddhist priest, two demons and a half demon as they travel across Asia to India to investigate a strange release of energy that has caused the continent’s demons to go crazy and bloodlusty. The characters are fantastically developed and very funny. This is as much of a comedy as it is an action manga. And technically, this is a reread for me – I read it when I was in high school. At that point though, I didn’t have a goodreads, so the website counts it as first time read for me, yay. And it kind of feels like it regardless, but I don’t remember what the hell is going on, it’s been so long. So needless to say, I’m really enjoying it. And I remember loving it when I was younger, so hopefully I’ll love it just as much this time around.

So that’s all that I read this month. My TBR for March will be up soon here. Happy reading!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 03/01/2015 in Books, Wrap-up

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “February Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

 
Aurora Librialis

Auroralibrialis

Arrvee's Book Diary

Arrvee reading this?

Mai Breaks the Ice

all my life's lessons... in a blog.

Navigating Worlds

A husband and wife adventuring through fantasy worlds together

A Sky of Books and Movies

Books & movies, art and thoughts.

Delphine's Babble on Some Good Reads

Good books, a loud silence, and a sleepy conscious is the ideal life.

flowlessbooks.wordpress.com/

Happiness is a cup of coffee and a good book

150 Characters and more...

...Because some things in life cannot be expressed with a mere 150 characters.

