RSS

Top 5 Wednesday: Books you’d save in a fire!

04 Mar

It’s Wednesday again, and this week’s topic is one I can actually come up with five books for, yaay! On to it – the top five books I would save in a fire. This is going to be super hard. Because knowing me, I’d risk getting burnt a bit if it meant I could save more books. So narrowing it down to five is difficult. I think I’ve done a good job of it, though. Also, I’ve narrowed it down to the books I currently have with me, none of the ones in storage at my parents’ place will be considered in this.

5. The Future of the Mind by Michio Kaku
The Future of the Mind: The Scientific Quest to Understand, Enhance, and Empower the MindAside from this book being about awesome things, this is the only book I own that is signed. Therefore, it gets a place on this list by default. Because if this was lost, it would be really hard to get another signed copy. I could get an unsigned one, but it just wouldn’t be the same.

.

.

.
.

4. Volume 4 of Rurouni Kenshin by Nobuhiro Watsuki
Rurouni Kenshin, Vol. 4 (Rurouni Kenshin, #4)I’m choosing this volume specifically because this is my all time favorite manga, and this volume has the conclusion of my favorite story arc within that manga. It’s been read so many times that the binding doesn’t even offer any resistance when I open it anymore. It’s well loved. A new copy wouldn’t have the same effect to it.

.

.3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by JK Rowling
This one for the same reason as the previous – it’s my favorite in the series and this particular copy has a lot of sentimental value.

.
2. Psychology and Psychic Culture
by Reuben Post Halleck
This one probably sounds weird to a lot of people. A random psychology book? Yes and no. Random yes, but at the same time, this book is the oldest book I own. It was published in 1895, back when psychology was in its birthing. I love this book. It has super dated pychological theory, which is fun to read. It has hand-written notes in the margins from past owners, dedications on the inner cover when it was given as a gift (repeatedly). This is just an awesome piece of history. I got it when my grandmother died – my father found it in a large box of old books that she had. He thought I’d like it. And I really, really do. The picture to the left is one I’ve taken myself of a page of the book, if you’re interested.

1. The Official Pokemon Handbook by Maria S Barbo
This is number one for a number of silly reasons. First, I got it when I was very young. It’s so The Official Pokémon Handbookbeat up that the cover is starting to fall off. Second, this is the original handbook, the first one released. Meaning, it has only the original 151 pokemon, back when Mew was rumored to be a fake made up by fans. When the first movie came out, man. The pokemon community exploded. I have this handbook, and the two following ones that came out when the second and third generations of pokemon were released respectively. But this is my favorite, makes me feel the most nostalgic, so this is the one I would save. And I feel like if anything ever happened to this book, I would probably really cry about it. I know I would.

And that’s all. Yay, post completed! Top5W was created by Lainey, and the group of other posters can be found here.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 03/04/2015 in Books, Top 5 Wednesday

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Delphine's Babble on Some Good Reads

Good books, a loud silence, and a sleepy conscious is the ideal life.

flowlessbooks.wordpress.com/

Happiness is a cup of coffee and a good book

150 Characters and more...

...Because some things in life cannot be expressed with a mere 150 characters.

~Tales of Fantasy and Adventure

a living portfolio of maremma gee

MetalPhantasmReads

Book reviews, tags and music stuff

