RSS

Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Series Enders

29 Apr

I feel like this topic is going to be riddled with accidental spoilers in everyone’s posts and videos. I feel like something like this is unavoidable. I vow to you now to try my best to not reveal anything that actually happens in the books, but instead just talk about why the ending is my favorite (my reactions, etc). So hopefully if you read this, it’ll make you want to read the series so you can feel how I felt, not feel like it’s been ruined for you. If I spoil you for something, feel free to yell at me.

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey on youtube, and here is the full list of posters, should you want to check them out (or join yourself!).

Also I’d like to point out that coming up with this list made me realize I haven’t finished many series. For shame.

5. Harry Potter
I always say this when I list Harry Potter for something, but I feel like this is going to be on most people’s lists. It’s just a well-rounded ending. (though I’m ignoring the epilogue. It was awkward). Keeping this spoiler free, I feel like the last book put me on the emotional roller coaster the last book of a series should, and when I originally finished with it, I was satisfied and unsatisfied at the same time, which is how I feel a series should end.

4. Fruits Basket
This is a relatively long-ish manga series, probably what, 17 volumes or so? This is a slice-of-life with supernatural(ish?) elements manga focusing on a young girl that through a set of circumstances moves in with her classmate and his family. Though when she moves in, she doesn’t realize that his family holds the curse of the Chinese Zodiac. I first started reading this series about 9 years ago (wow I’m old) and finished it probably 4 years ago – I was reading as they were released, so yeah. This series I feel gave me a sense of calm when it was over, which is why I liked it so much. I didn’t feel torn up. I felt… good.

3. Rurouni Kenshin
This one I’m listing purely because it’s my favorite manga series ever. It’s ending is pretty good, I’ll give it that, but that thing that makes an ending good or bad has a lot to do with the journey it took to get there. And that’s why I like this ending so much – all the stuff that the characters had to do to get to it. I’ve explained this series before, so all I’ll say now is that it’s a historical fiction set in Meiji Era Japan – it has elements of action, adventure, comedy, romance, drama.. so on. That’s why I love it so much, it has it all :”D

2.The Chaos Walking Trilogy
I just finished this series recently and rarely do I rave about a book so much as I did after finishing this one. The third book in this trilogy had me flying through every emotion possible (the first two did as well). This series, as I’ve said in my review of the trilogy, has become one of my favorite series to date. Go read this, man.

1. Death Note
And this one wins my number one spot. The ending of this twelve volume series is the epitome of poetic. I just. It’s perfect. I can’t say why or how without ruining it, but just trust me. Wowwy.

So there we go. Hopefully you’re not spoiled, and hopefully knowing the endings of these series are good will make you more apt to picking them up. Happy reading!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on 04/29/2015 in Books, Top 5 Wednesday

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Series Enders

  1. analeeluvsbooks

    04/29/2015 at 10:54 am

    Great list! I totally agree with HP. Endings are always tough for books because if I don’t agree with it, it kind of ruins the story. Nice post! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Barb (boxermommyreads)

    04/29/2015 at 11:06 am

    I hope to read the Chaos Walking trilogy soon. I have heard great things about it. Great list!

    Liked by 2 people

     
  3. wanderlustywriter

    04/29/2015 at 12:07 pm

    100% agree on HP and Chaos Walking! (Haven’t read the others). I’d add Cassandra Clare’s The Infernal Devices–I devoured that trilogy and could not figure out how she was going to end it in a satisfactory way. But she did, and it’s beautiful and sad and perfect.

    Like

     
    • embuhlee

      04/29/2015 at 5:08 pm

      That’s a series that’s still on my to-read list. I’ll get there. Eventually. @.@

      Liked by 1 person

       
  4. Panda

    04/29/2015 at 4:09 pm

    Ooh, Fruits Basket! Do you know anywhere I can get the series cheap? I can only find them for like 200 pounds on Amazon… :/

    Like

     
    • embuhlee

      04/29/2015 at 5:10 pm

      Other than trying craigslist or ebay, I don’t, no. :/ Sorry about that. They do offer the anime for streaming on netflix and hulu though, if you have either of those (on hulu it’s free I believe)

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Panda

        04/29/2015 at 5:26 pm

        I’ve seen the anime but apparently the manga’s different and Tohru and Kyo end up married!?

        Like

         
      • embuhlee

        04/29/2015 at 8:07 pm

        The manga is different, yes. Goes much further than the anime did. But waah, watch the spoilers!! Please edit your post to skirt around that if you would. xD

        Liked by 1 person

         

Leave a Reply

 
Delphine's Babble on Some Good Reads

Good books, a loud silence, and a sleepy conscious is the ideal life.

flowlessbooks.wordpress.com/

Happiness is a cup of coffee and a good book

150 Characters and more...

...Because some things in life cannot be expressed with a mere 150 characters.

~Tales of Fantasy and Adventure

a living portfolio of maremma gee

MetalPhantasmReads

Book reviews, tags and music stuff

