RSS

Bout of Books Day 4 Challenge: From Modern to Classic

14 May

I like this kind of challenge – there was one in Dewey’s 24hr Readathon along these lines too. Though for the sake of non-repetitiveness, I’m going to choose a book that wasn’t in my list of three books for that challenge (Harry Potter, The Book Thief and Go the F*** to Sleep)

For those not following the Bout of Books Challenges, this particular challenge is to choose a book published 2005 or later that you feel will become a classic, and then state why. And let me tell you, that 2005 publish mark is making this difficult. I’m staring at my shelves trying to find one and each time I do, the publish date is too old. So buh, off to my goodreads to look at all my read books instead of those with me currently. Huff.

Alright, here we go:

Ready Player OneI’m choosing Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. I feel like this is going to end up how The Foundation Trilogy by Asimov is talked about. Classic in its own way, but not really taught in schools unless the class is focusing on scifis anyways. And the reason I choose this one is because: 1) Within the book it’s referring to classics itself by all the 80s pop culture references that have since become classics and 2) the fact that it’s a dystopian. I know, I know. Dystopian =/= automatic classic, but think about it… 1984, Brave New World, Fahrenheit 451.. seeing a trend? And it’s about a teenager dealing with his world and interpersonal relationships while not being a total scumbag about it, perfect stuff for adolescents in school to read about.

Also, it has this ‘futuristic technology’ in it, which may or may not turn out in real life how it is in the book, so that could be another thing to study while reading the book. Either ‘look how close he got it’ or ‘what a goofy idea this guy had’ (I’m guessing the latter, considering it’s 2015 and we still don’t have flying cars. Thanks Back to the Future for the huge let down. :P)

So yes, this is my choice. Would totally want my kid to read it should I ever have a kid.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 05/14/2015 in Books, Readathon

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Bout of Books Day 4 Challenge: From Modern to Classic

  1. becksawalton

    05/14/2015 at 8:09 pm

    Thanks for participating! And also for choosing different books from the Dewey’s challenge. I had submitted this challenge to the Bout of Books people and then a couple of days later the Dewey challenges were announced and I was like !!! I did make it tough with the 2005 thing – I had a feeling nearly everyone on the bloggosphere would choose Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone if I didn’t!

    And onto Ready Player One – I agree fully with you. I think it will become a classic, and it will most probably stand the test of time like so many of those older dystopians.

    Like

     
    • embuhlee

      05/15/2015 at 8:29 am

      My pleasure, this was a fun one to do! Yeah the 2005 date definitely did make it tougher, but hopefully this way you’ll get a larger range of answers!

      Liked by 1 person

       

Leave a Reply

 
Aurora Librialis

Auroralibrialis

Arrvee's Book Diary

Arrvee reading this?

Mai Breaks the Ice

all my life's lessons... in a blog.

Navigating Worlds

A husband and wife adventuring through fantasy worlds together

A Sky of Books and Movies

Books & movies, art and thoughts.

Delphine's Babble on Some Good Reads

Good books, a loud silence, and a sleepy conscious is the ideal life.

flowlessbooks.wordpress.com/

Happiness is a cup of coffee and a good book

150 Characters and more...

...Because some things in life cannot be expressed with a mere 150 characters.

