RSS

Top 5 Wednesday: Characters You Wish You Could Drown

24 Jun

Top 5 Wednesday

It’s Wednesday again! And this time, it’s a topic I can do. :”D Last week’s was ‘Books you’ve read in one sitting’, and honestly, I’ve never done that, hah. I get fidgety after about an hour or so, and have to stop. 😛 But whatevs, I can do this week’s. As usual, T5W was created by Lainey, and you could find the full list of posters here. Onto my Top 5 Character I wish I could drown. (or bop on the head)

5. Hatsumomo from Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

Hatsumomo is a character introduced relatively early in this book (her movie character pictured to the left). I. Cannot. Stand her. She’s rude, self-entitled, manipulative, hypocritical… buh. I just don’t like her. At all. Though I have to admit, she does make the book a fair bit better – she’s a very good antagonist.

If you haven’t read this book, do it. Or watch the movie. You’ll get a better experience from the book, but the movie was pretty decent too.

.

4. Mayor Prentiss from The Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness

What, Emily’s mentioning the Chaos Walking Trilogy in a post? Shocker!

Mayor Prentiss is the Mayor of Prentisstown at the beginning of the first book, and from there he becomes such a butt. I think one of the things I can’t stand the most about this character (and therefore makes him such a good bad guy) is the fact that when reading the book, I was always questioning his motives. He was bad… but was he? Wait yes. But maybe not… No, that was totally evil, but… is that a shred of conscience I see there?

This guy was an enigma, and he made my blood boil.

3. Percy Weasley from Harry Potter by JK Rowling

Oh my gosh Percy, just Shut. Up. for once in your life. Close your faaace.

.

.

.

2. Naraku from Inuyasha by Rumiko Takahashi

For anyone who has read or watched Inuyasha, you understand my deep-seeded loathing for this character. He’s just evil (but suuuuch a good villain). If he would just mind his own damn business once in a while, but no.. he has to be all vindictive and assholey.

Naraku is the main antagonist in Inuyasha, and enters the show very early. He’s such a good bad guy, but he needs a big, big BIG bop on the head.

.

1. Joffrey from A Song of Ice and Fire by George RR Martin.

Any reasons I give will be a spoiler, so just trust me on this. (and I’m only on book two, so no spoilers to me either, please!)

Look at that face. Ugh, so punchable.

.

.

Well, tada! I’m glad to see all the characters I want to bop on the head/drown/throw things at are actually good, well-developed characters with actual reasons for me to despise them. None of them I hate just out of principle, they’re all actual dicks. Yay. :”D

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 06/24/2015 in Books, Top 5 Wednesday

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Top 5 Wednesday: Characters You Wish You Could Drown

  1. Crystal Santos

    06/24/2015 at 9:43 am

    YES to Percy Weasley! He’s on my list, too. I can’t stand his arrogance.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
It's Simply Me, Jasmine

Simply just a teenage girl living in the UK, with her own little corner on the Internet!

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

toomuchofabooknerd

forever crying about YA books

Lainey Kress

BA in English from Iowa | 25 | Writer

stories; from the margins to centre

Exploring stories in all its incarnations

-- Blogging Everything Beautiful --

@jbelkbooks.wordpress.com

