RSS

Top 5 Wednesday: Things on My Bookshelf That Aren’t Books

08 Jul

Top 5 Wednesday

Please note this is a repost. I deleted my original because I’m a ding dong and uploaded it as a page instead of a post. 😛 So apologies, and thank you to everyone who commented on and liked the original! 😀

T5W was created by Lainey and here is where you can find the full list of participants if you’d like to join as well!

This challenge made me realize I don’t decorate my shelves nearly enough. A lot of the time they’re double or triple stacked with books, so the decoration space takes a back-burner in my mind. As it stands, I have exactly 5 things on my shelves, so I”m just ordering those. :”D

5. Board games.
I love board games. Fast ones, slow ones, simple ones, involved ones. They’re all fun. :”D And it’s not shown in the picture, but we’ve also obtained the newest versions of the DnD handbooks as well, though we haven’t started playing yet (it’s hard to find a group that’s open same time each week. 😦 )IMG_1697

4. Pascal
This was actually a gift from Ace last Christmas when we did a cookie exchange. :”D She’s a peach. If you haven’t seen Tangled, this is the chameleon from that, Pascal. Though my SO thinks he’s clever and keeps calling it Fortran. (Pascal.. Fortran.. get it? xD Google it.) It’s on the shelf in my bedroom, so it stares at me while I sleep. 😀
IMG_1695

3. Tiger
This was a valentine’s gift from my SO two years ago. He asked what I wanted and I said a tiger since it’s my favorite animal. He actually found a valentine’s tiger. I didn’t even know those existed.
IMG_1696

2. Thermometer
This I think is one of the cooler things I own period, let alone on my bookshelves. It’s a glass thermometer. Each bulb has a temperature tag on the bottom of it, and when it’s cool enough, some of them will float. Whichever one is the lowest one that’s actually floating is what temperature it is in the room. As you can see from this picture, none of them are floating, meaning it’s hotter than that top tag, which is 80 degrees Fahrenheit (SEND AIRCONDITIONER, WE’RE MELTING). For a little trinket I inherited from my Dad when I moved out that has always just sat dusty on the shelves, it’s pretty accurate! I love it.
IMG_1693

1. Drumstick
Have you ever been to a concert? Have you ever seen the band throw things into the audience after the show? WELL GUESS WHO CAUGHT A DRUM STICK. It’s all beat up and everything from the drummer playing it so hard. :”D AND it’s by one of my favorite bands ever, Sonata Arctica!! I about lost my shit in the mosh pit as soon as I caught that thing.
IMG_1694

Btw, here’s a good song of theirs if you don’t know them. They’re Finnish power metal. Give it a listen, you might find a new genre to enjoy if you don’t already. :”D (and everyone’s hair is so much nicer than mine, I’m jelly)

And there’s my top 5 things on my shelf that aren’t books! I’m looking forward to reading everyone else’s – this is a pretty cool topic 😀

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 07/08/2015 in Books, Top 5 Wednesday

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Top 5 Wednesday: Things on My Bookshelf That Aren’t Books

  1. Panda

    07/09/2015 at 8:23 am

    That thermometer looks really cool! Where do you get it from?

    Like

     
    • embuhlee

      07/09/2015 at 1:58 pm

      I don’t remember honestly. Before it was given to me, it was sitting in my parents’ livingroom as long as I can remember.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. Kacie from Kacie's Bookshelf

    07/09/2015 at 8:27 pm

    I didn’t even think of my pile of board games on top of my bookshelf as “items on my bookshelf.” Some of those look like a lot of fun!

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
It's Simply Me, Jasmine

Simply just a teenage girl living in the UK, with her own little corner on the Internet!

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

toomuchofabooknerd

forever crying about YA books

Lainey Kress

BA in English from Iowa | 25 | Writer

stories; from the margins to centre

Exploring stories in all its incarnations

-- Blogging Everything Beautiful --

@jbelkbooks.wordpress.com

