RSS

The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

03 Aug

Yay, another taggie. This one I found on Rachel at  Life of a Female Bibliophile’s page, and it was originally created by I have no idea. I tried looking, couldn’t find the originator. If you know, let me know.

Here are the questions:

1) How long have you been a blogger?
My first post was made on 11/15/14, so what… just shy of nine months? This is my original post, and I know it in I said I wanted to do a youtube channel after about a year, but honestly at this point that’s just not feasible for me. This blog I feel is a lot more relaxed than a strict filming schedule would be, so you all have to tolerate my presence for a long while longer. Not sorry.

2) At what point do you think you will stop?
When it becomes a chore instead of fun. I certainly don’t think I’ll stop reading books, so I’ll always have content, but if writing these things becomes something I dread, that’ll be my sign to stop.

3) What is the best thing?
Talking to everyone that comments on my posts and finding other people’s blogs to comment on their posts! I only have one or two friends that love reading as much as I do, so finding a whole community online that I can goo about books with is just fantastic. So if you ever have a thought, comment! If you have a book blog and I’m not following it, send it to me and I will!

4) What is the worst thing? What do you do to make it okay?
I think the worst thing for me personally is dealing with how I write. When I was younger, I wrote a lot and I feel like my writing was actually decent. I haven’t written any sort of fiction except during Nanowrimo for a few years now and I feel my writing is very blocky and routined now. So writing a blog post, I’m always unsure if my writing is actually expressing the ideas I want it to or if it sounds robotic to a reader that’s not myself. So what do you guys think about how I write? Do you feel you get a sense of my personality or do I feel like a cookie cutter blogger? Be honest, it won’t hurt my feelings. :”D

To make it okay, I just keep writing and stay on the look out for any constructive criticism I can take to heart.

5) How long does it take you to create/find pictures to use?
Not very long. Typically, I just use images from goodreads. On the rare occasion I use a gif or something like that, a google search does wonders. Typically I’ll rehost it on imagur just so I know the source won’t be removed. If it’s someone’s copywrited, original art, I’ll cite my source.

6) Who is your book crush?
I don’t know if I have one, really. There are a few characters that I will swoon over now and then, but going as far as to have a crush on them is not typically for me.

7) What author would you like to have on your blog?
Naomi NovikNaomi Novik. She is fantastic. She wrote The Temeraire series and most recently Uprooted. She’s fantastic. Go read her. She likes dragons.

.

.

.

.

8) What do you wear when you write your blog posts?
Usually pjs. That’s all I wear when I’m at home. My rule is no pants inside the house. Pants are bad. Guests visiting can deal with my pjs. It’s my apartment, I can wear what I damn well want. (and they can just wear their damn pjs too for all I care).

9) How long does it take you to prepare?
I usually don’t. My ‘preparations’ usually happen while I writing the blog post. I’ll write a bit and be like, “Oh I need to include this link!” and stop writing, find the link, add it in, then keep writing. So no pre-prep. It’s all improvising as I write.

10) How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture?
I liked it – I haven’t encountered anyone who is rude or anything like that. And I can’t say that for any other community I’ve been a part of online. We all just love books and I feel like we’re all just excited to find others who love them, so why be mean to them?

11) What do you think one should do to get a successful blog?
There are a few things.

– A visually appealing blog
– A writing style that draws others in
– Interacting with other bloggers! This one is really important.
– A consistent posting schedule. This is one I have trouble doing. I usually make a couple posts a week, but usually they’re not on the same days all the time.
– Doing tags and linking to others’ blog. Buddy clicks are wonderful
– Don’t be afraid to advertise your blog in an unpushy manner. (like tweeting new posts, etc)
– Be yourself. Don’t try to be a copy of someone else’s blog. Just do your own blog. If you like someone else’s idea, ask to use it, but try to make it your own instead of just straight copying.

12) Who do you tag?
Like Rachel said, anyone who loves to read. If you like to read, I want to know more about you. 🙂 So if you do this, let me know!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on 08/03/2015 in Book Tag, Books

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

  1. Life of a Female Bibliophile

    08/03/2015 at 10:33 am

    Great answers! I have never heard of Naomi Novik, so I’ll have to check her books. They sound really good. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • embuhlee

      08/03/2015 at 2:13 pm

      They’re sooo good. The Temeraire series is a historical fantasy about dragon warfare during the Napoleonic Wars. Gush.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. Panda

    08/03/2015 at 1:00 pm

    Great answers! I think Trey from Trey Shnarr Books created this tag after seeing Katytastic’s The Secret Life of a Youtuber tag and I edited the last question. Mine is on my blog if you’re at all interested 😛

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. Zezee

    08/03/2015 at 7:46 pm

    Great advice. I usually worry about my writing style too and sometimes I think I over-edit things.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • embuhlee

      08/03/2015 at 8:49 pm

      I know what you mean. :/ I feel like I’m trying to make it flow so hard that it stops flowing, haha.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
Aurora Librialis

Auroralibrialis

Arrvee's Book Diary

Arrvee reading this?

Mai Breaks the Ice

all my life's lessons... in a blog.

Navigating Worlds

A husband and wife adventuring through fantasy worlds together

A Sky of Books and Movies

Books & movies, art and thoughts.

Delphine's Babble on Some Good Reads

Good books, a loud silence, and a sleepy conscious is the ideal life.

flowlessbooks.wordpress.com/

Happiness is a cup of coffee and a good book

150 Characters and more...

...Because some things in life cannot be expressed with a mere 150 characters.

