RSS

Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Maps

06 Aug

Top 5 Wednesday

Shh, ignore that it’s Thursday.

This week’s topic is favorite maps and if anything, this topic made me realize I don’t read nearly enough fantasy, holy cow. And if I do, I don’t remember the maps. I found five maps total, so I just ordered them in my favorite order. As always, T5W was created by Lainey and here is the group if you’d like to join. Also, a couple of the books I chose are actually lent out, so it’s off to google for me to find a picture of the maps. And heeere we go~

5. Joya D’Arena from The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson
This series was pretty damn good. I’ve written a review on the first book here, and the other two I liked even more. The land was rather interesting too. Throughout the three books in the trilogy, the characters float around in a lot of the areas. Each has a unique climate and culture and it’s just really neat.

IMG_17694. New Crobuzon from Perdido Street Station by China Mieville
New Crobuzon is one of the most interesting cities I’ve ever read about. Each area is written with such detail that when the characters are there, you feel that you’re there with them. The city sits in the ribs of the remains of some long dead giant monster, it’s filled with creatures that I have personally never come across in a book before and honestly… the book is about the city, not the characters. The author brought this city to life.

https://i2.wp.com/i.imgur.com/5mNtXPX.gif

3. Amestris from Fullmetal Alchemist by Hiromu Arakawa
Amestris is a nation with a secretive past. It’s a military dictatorship, run by a man named Fuhrer King Bradley. There are alchemists and war and automail. This series is funny and actionpacked and mind-blowing and chill-inducing and fluffy and super not fluffy. Go read this – this is one of the best things I’ve ever read.

https://i1.wp.com/i.imgur.com/0xN1Ffl.jpg

2. Primoria from Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch
This is one of the books I’m currently reading. The book itself I’m liking okay so far – the main character is kinda iffy with me. She bugs me, man. But the map is pretty cool I think! So it lands at #2 on my list. I just like the detail on it – it’s neato.

IMG_17671. Anara from The Relic Master series by Catherine Fisher
Okay, this is one of the coolest maps ever. First off, it took me a long time to get these pictures. The map of Anara is spread out over the inside of the covers of all four books in the series. So I had to take off the covers and line them up on the floor to take the pictures. And on top of the awesome map, I feel this is one of the most underrated series ever – I have seem nobody talk about them.  They. Are. Fantastic. The world created for these books is just so intricate and full of lore and the writing is so vivid and awesome and gushgushgush. Go read it!

IMG_1772

IMG_1774IMG_1775So there are my maps. 🙂 Have you read any of these? Happy reading!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 08/06/2015 in Books, Top 5 Wednesday

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Maps

  1. Kacie from Kacie's Bookshelf

    08/06/2015 at 8:21 pm

    Is that your pokeball thumbnail? It’s awesome! 🙂

    Like

     
  2. Write.Brained

    08/06/2015 at 9:23 pm

    Maps are fascinating! It’s one of my favorite parts of fantasy writing. I always get disappointed when there’s not one.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • embuhlee

      08/07/2015 at 8:37 am

      I know – it makes it so much easier to picture everything that’s happening in my mind.

      Liked by 1 person

       

Leave a Reply

 
Aurora Librialis

Auroralibrialis

Arrvee's Book Diary

Arrvee reading this?

Mai Breaks the Ice

all my life's lessons... in a blog.

Navigating Worlds

A husband and wife adventuring through fantasy worlds together

A Sky of Books and Movies

Books & movies, art and thoughts.

Delphine's Babble on Some Good Reads

Good books, a loud silence, and a sleepy conscious is the ideal life.

flowlessbooks.wordpress.com/

Happiness is a cup of coffee and a good book

150 Characters and more...

...Because some things in life cannot be expressed with a mere 150 characters.

