RSS

August Wrap-Up and September Currently Reading

31 Aug

And now it’s August 31st and my classes have started and organic chemistry is going to kill me. Seriously, I think this is the hardest class I’ve ever taken. Holy cow. So don’t be surprised if this is the last month where I read more than one book until December when classes let out for winter break. I’m already read for a nap.

So while I still have the energy to write about them, here are the books I read and the books I’m reading:

Y: The Last Man volume 6 by Brian K Vaughn
Y: The Last Man, Vol. 6: Girl on Girl (Y: The Last Man, #6)I’ve been slowly making my way through this series. This is by the same guy who writes Saga and this one is already completed, so I figure I’d pick it up. I don’t actually own any of the volumes myself but have been leeching them off Amanda as she buys them. So thanks :”D You save me monies and provide me entertainments. Also did I give this volume back to you yet, I forget.

ANYWAYS, this series follows Yorick, who along with his male monkey are the last two creatures with Y chromosomes on the planet. The world is written very rough-and-tumble. It’s gritty, funny, action-packed. And it has no shortage of strong female characters (because duh). This series is very different from Saga in both tone and art, but I seriously recommend checking it out. I have four volumes to go I think and I’m hoping the ending will be fantastic.

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch
Snow Like Ashes (Snow Like Ashes, #1)Going into this book, I didn’t expect to like it as much as I did. I was expecting a generic YA fantasy that would pull out a three star rating. Because while the plot was unique, the plot devices used weren’t. And honestly the main character was a pest at times. But Ms Raasch managed to pull this book off spectacularly. I found myself invested in the story and absorbed into the word despite a small list of cliches that I noticed. I actually wrote a review on this one, so if you’re interested, go check it out.

I’m highly anticipating book two of this series which is set to be released later this year. While I’m still not crazy about the main character, she’s definitely grown on me and I actually kinda sorta like her now. Don’t love, but like, which is enough for me.

Rumble by Ellen Hopkins
RumbleThis is another book I wrote a review for and if you don’t follow my blog normally, I’ll let you know now that I hated this book. One star. I don’t even know how I finished it. I think I started hate-reading after a while and had to finish it from pure spite. So in the review I kinda tear it a new asshole.

If you like this book, tell me why, because I honestly don’t see the appeal. This was easily my lowest ranking book of the month. I’m hoping I don’t come across any more Rumbles for the rest of the year.

Amulet volume 1 by Kazu Kibuishi
Amulet, Vol. 1: The Stonekeeper (Amulet, #1)This graphic novel was a breathe of fresh air after finishing Rumble. I enjoyed this, and I loved the art. The creatures in this story are fascinating. This is a middle grade graphic novel following a set of siblings as they discover an amulet that let’s them fall into another world. After reading only one volume, I know I want to read the rest. I’m slowly renting them from my local library so hopefully I’ll get through them sooner or later.

Also, I noticed I have a weird thing – animal sidekicks. See that bunny on the front? I thought going into this that I’d find that bunny annoying, but I ended up liking him. I do that a lot. When I saw the snowman on Frozen before watching it, I mentally decided ‘annoying’, but ended up loving him. Does anyone else do that with animal sidekicks or am I weird?

The Martian by Andy Weir
The MartianI wrote a review on this one as well and this is easily my favorite book of the month if not the year so far. It’s up there with The Chaos Walking Trilogy with out much I’ve been shoving it down people’s throats. If there is some way some how you don’t know the synopsis of this book yet, it’s about a guy who gets stranded on Mars and then is a smart ass about it.

It’s hilarious, I highly recommend it if you want to laugh at constant life-and-death situations and not feel bad about it. I listened to think as an audiobook and highly recommend you do so – the narrator they caught is just absolutely perfect.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
A Monster CallsAnd this is officially my second favorite book of the month. I think I’m just a fangirl for Patrick Ness, he can do no wrong. A Monster Calls is about a boy named Conor and a Monster and a truth that the monster will see revealed. I read this very quickly. There are illustrations throughout it that just tie in so well with the tone of this book. It’s eerie without being scary, it’s unsettling without being off-putting. I really enjoyed this.

And I found out it’s being made into a movie and that Liam Neeson is voicing the monster. I think it’s a perfect choice :”D I can’t wait to watch it.

Legend by Marie Lu
Legend (Legend, #1)I got what I expected up going into this book – a semi-stereotypical story of a girl who discovers her government is corrupt and is now on a quest to take it down. Even though I knew it was cliche, I still enjoyed this book. The only problem I really had with it that kept me from getting fully immersed is the ‘the chosen one’ trope that runs strong in it. This fifteen year old girl and fifteen year old guy, only they can save the country. None of the adults. Nope, just them.

Once I got past that goofy piece of plot point, I could enjoy this book. I rated it 3.5 stars and am continuing the series.

So those are all the books I read this month. Like I said, it’s probably going to be a while before the list is this long again. So on to what I’m currently reading as we get into September:

Beauty QueensBeauty Queens by Libba Bray
You know what’s terrible? I might DNF this book. Not because I don’t like it – I do like it – but honestly I have no desire to read it. It’s weird. When I read it, I enjoy it, but all the other books on my list are drawing me in way more than this book. And it’s a library book that’ll have to be returned eventually, so… if I don’t pick it up again by the return date it’s getting DNF’d. I’ve already renewed it once, I think having it for six weeks and not finishing it should be an indicator that it’s time to let it go.

Yes Please by Amy PoehlerYes Please
This one I’m going to finish. I’m listening to it on audiobook and really enjoying it. Amy Poehler is pretty funny I think. :”D

Life, the Universe and Everything (Hitchhiker's Guide, #3)Life, The Universe and Everything by Douglas Adams
Yep, still chugging through this one. Ignore that I’ve been reading it since February. I’m reading this aloud with my SO so it’s more slow going but not an issue like Beauty Queens is.

Prodigy by Marie LuProdigy (Legend, #2)
This one I feel will be finished pretty quickly. I’m about 70 percent done with it and homework-depending, I’ll finish it by the weekend.

His Majesty's Dragon (Temeraire #1)His Majesty’s Dragon by Naomi Novik
Reread for me, very much enjoying it :”D

.

A Storm of Swords by George RR MartinA Storm of Swords (A Song of Ice and Fire, #3)
Lately this one has taken the back burner to the other books I’m reading but I’m still definitely going to finish it. I love this world so much :”D

And that’s all she wrote! What was your favorite book this month? Happy reading!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on 08/31/2015 in Books, Currently Reading, Wrap-up

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “August Wrap-Up and September Currently Reading

  1. BooksatDawn

    08/31/2015 at 8:07 am

    How did you like Snow Like Ashes?
    Great reading month! 😀

    Like

     
    • embuhlee

      08/31/2015 at 6:13 pm

      I really liked it – a lot more than I thought I would! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • BooksatDawn

        08/31/2015 at 7:14 pm

        That’s awesome! 😀
        I love it too~

        Like

         
  2. parisqueen13

    09/02/2015 at 7:25 pm

    How did you like Yes Please

    Like

     
    • embuhlee

      09/03/2015 at 10:17 am

      I liked it! It was really enjoyable. 😀 Made me laugh a good few times, too. Have you read it?

      Liked by 1 person

       

Leave a Reply

 
MetalPhantasmReads

Book reviews, tags and music stuff

It's Simply Me, Jasmine

Simply just a teenage girl living in the UK, with her own little corner on the Internet!

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

toomuchofabooknerd

forever crying about YA books

