RSS

September Wrap-Up and October Currently Reading

01 Oct

So starting off, guess who hasn’t posted in weeks. Time’s up, it’s me. I have no excuse, I just… haven’t felt like it. I’ve barely had time to sleep so what little time I did get to myself this month I spent reading.(well, I suppose that’s not a bad way to go :”D) But seeing everyone’s wrap-ups has inspired me back into it, so thank yous.

Anyway, September was actually a pretty great reading month for me. I attacked graphic novels and even finished a couple novels as well. The books I finished this month were:

Yes PleaseLosing It (Losing It, #1)Faking It (Losing It, #2)

Audiobooks:

Yes Please by Amy Poehler
This one I actually read during August and finished on September 1st. I couldn’t remember if I actually ever mentioned I finished it, so I figured I would. I ended up really liking this. Amy Poehler in my opinion is a wonderful woman full of talent and it was entertaining and interesting getting to hear her memoir narrated by her.

Losing It and Faking It by Cora Carmack
I fell into a bit of a new-adult kick towards the beginning of this month and since I discovered Scribd, I’ve been listening to audiobooks like nobody’s business. I’m still on the free trial, but I think I’m gonna keep it. I used it enough to warrant it, I think.Anyways, these two books are companion novels set in Texas and then Philadelphia.  They follow a couple characters as they do typical new-adulty things. There was nothing particularly stand-outy in these novels, but they were fun to read and I flew through them. I recommend them if you’re looking for something fast and cute. There’s a third in the series too I haven’t gotten to yet. I may or may not get to it. I really liked these two, but my new-adulty mood has withered. I think it’s because the season’s changing. I want fantasy and horror!

Scott Pilgrim's Precious Little Life (Scott Pilgrim, #1)Scott Pilgrim vs. The World (Scott Pilgrim, #2)Scott Pilgrim & the Infinite Sadness (Scott Pilgrim, #3)Scott Pilgrim Gets It Together (Scott Pilgrim, #4)Scott Pilgrim vs. the Universe (Scott Pilgrim, #5)Scott Pilgrim Volume 6: Scott Pilgrim's Finest HourLost at SeaSaga, Volume 5NimonaBoxers (Boxers & Saints, #1)Saints (Boxers & Saints, #2)Amulet, Vol. 2: The Stonekeeper's Curse (Amulet, #2)Amulet, Vol. 3: The Cloud Searchers (Amulet, #3)

Graphic Novels:

Scott Pilgrim volumes 1-6 by Bryan Lee O’Malley
I had watched the movie before reading these so I went it with a certain level of expectation despite trying really hard to go in with a blank opinion. Turns out it didn’t matter – I really liked these. They were fun, quick and hilarious. It was cool seeing more background on the characters, Kim especially. I know in the movie they kind of mention her here and there but in the books you get her full story and I really like it. If you liked this movie or if you liked anything else by this author, pick these up.

Lost at Sea by Bryan Lee O’Malley.
When I borrowed the Scott Pilgrim novels from a friend, he also lent me this novel, saying that it was his favorite graphic novel of all time and that if I didn’t love it I wasn’t allowed to tell him because then he would hate me. Well. I didn’t love it. I really, really liked it – rated it four stars, but I didn’t love it, so he has no idea how I feel, haha. Lost at Sea follows a girl who finds herself in California and is trying to get home to Canada. Through a weird set of circumstances she finds herself in the car of some classmates of hers who happened to be in the area. This graphic novel for me had a touch of surreal-ness to it and it gave it a very airy, disconnected feel. Usually that’s bad but I really liked how it felt to read this book if that makes sense. I recommend it. It’s really good.

Saga volume 5 by Brian K Vaughan
By this point, I feel all I need to say about this graphic novel series is “I love it” repeatedly until your eyes bleed.

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
I’ve been seeing this one floating around the book community lately and saw it in my library so I thought ‘why not’. I was pleasantly surprised by this one. It was cute, funny, heart-felt. I really liked it. It follows Nimona, who is a shapeshifter who volunteers (well, insists) on being a villain’s sidekick. She’s full of spunk and wit, and the villain she serves is just as colorful. The banter between the two was hilarious and I really loved the art – it was simple but at the same time was able to convey the emotion of the characters. Nimona was highly entertaining and I really recommend it.

Boxers and Saints by Gene Luen Yang
Boxers and Saints are two companion graphic novels, each telling a story during China’s Boxer Rebellion from differing perspectives. I felt for the characters on each side of the conflict and have since decided that all fighting is dumb. I mean really. Just talk to each other like human beings, no matter the situation. And if that doesn’t work, just ignore each other. It’s pointless to try to make another person change their ways using violence. Goodness. Both of these books were depressing as hell. I liked them, but holy cow.

Amulet volumes 2 and 3 by Kazu Kibuishi
Like the first volume, I really enjoyed these. I feel like if I was fifteen years younger, I would have loved them. But as they’re middle-grade, I liked them. I think my brain’s not allowing me to become fully engrossed. But anyways, the art in these are what’s really been drawing me in. The scenery in this series is beautiful. I think there are two or three more volumes out and my library has them, so yay :”D

Keeping Her (Losing It, #1.5)RookThe Infinite Sea (The 5th Wave, #2)

Novels:

Keeping Her by Cora Carmack
This is a novella that takes place between Losing It and Faking It, which I’ve mentioned above. It follows the characters from the first book. It was cute, light and as I’ve said before, fun. If you’re gonna read the main series, I recommend this one too.

Rook by Sharon Cameron
I actually wrote a full review on this book. I feel like this book is the reason I didn’t read many novels this month. It just took me forever to get through it. I really liked it, but man it was slow-moving.

The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey
This is another one that took me a good bit to read. This is the second book in the 5th Wave series. As far as plot goes in this book, it was kinda slow. But I really like the characters this one focuses on. Ringer I think is my favorite. Cassie is okay I suppose. But Ringer I feel I can relate more to. She’s a lot more uh… real, I think the word is. Cassie feels kinda flat in this book. But either way, this book was obviously just meant to be an ‘okay, get ready for book 3’ book. I feel like it could have been a blog post from the author on ‘okay this is what you need to know’. But weirdly enough, even with the slowness and the obvious transition purpose, I still really liked this book. I can see why a lot of people wouldn’t, but for me a good ending usually saves an otherwise just-okay book for me. And this one’s ending was fantastic. Highly anticipating book three :”D

Right so, I read 19 things this month :”D I did gud.


And onto October. I realized shortly after posting my September Currently Reading that I never pulled a slip from my TBR Jar. So I’m gonna pull one right now and see if I succeeded it in September. If not, poo. And I’m gonna pull another one for October to tackle.

September’s was: Read a 2015 debut novel
I actually did that!! Saga vol 5 came out this year and so did Rook, I believe. Hurray Hurray! :”D

October’s is: Read and watch a book and its film adaption

I really want to pick The Martian for this one since I read it recently and I’m almost certain that it comes out this month (might be next month) but I didn’t actually read it this month so I can’t. D:

Out of books on my shelf that have adaptions either in movie or tv form, I’m not quite sure which one I want. I had started to list them here but realized there are more than 20, so I have a good selection to pick from and not enough motivation to type them all out here. When I read it and watch it, I’ll be sure to compare the two in the review or wrap-up it ends up in.

Otherwise, I’m currently reading the following:

His Majesty's Dragon (Temeraire #1)Life, the Universe and Everything (Hitchhiker's Guide, #3)An Ember in the Ashes (An Ember in the Ashes, #1)A Storm of Swords (A Song of Ice and Fire, #3)The Night Circus

The Night Circus I’m listening to on audiobook, so I’m actually only physically reading four at the moment. And I ordered The Fold by Peter Clines in the mail and it arrived at my parents’ place yesterday. So I just need to drive down there and pick it up and hopefully I’ll get to that one too this month. Otherwise, I’m probably going to jump into a bit of fantasy or horror. Depends on what I find and what I feel.

How was your guys’ reading months? Favorite book? Anything book you wanna shove down my throat? Always looking for suggestions :”D Thanks for reading.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 10/01/2015 in Books, Currently Reading, Wrap-up

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “September Wrap-Up and October Currently Reading

  1. Kacie from Kacie's Bookshelf

    10/01/2015 at 9:18 am

    Post when you want to post! That’s what’s important 🙂 I’m currently reading The Night Circus, but it’s taking me forever. It’s my best friend’s favorite book so I decided to pick it up. It’s something about the way it jumps around the timeline, I’m having a hard time keeping it straight. I’m taking a book-break from it now and will come back later! A Storm of Swords might be my favorite in the ASoIaF series. It’s a good one!

    Like

     
    • embuhlee

      10/01/2015 at 2:41 pm

      Yeah, I’m trying to keep that attitude but I feel kinda bad when this is something I enjoy doing but honestly don’t have time for sometimes. xD

      And I get what you mean. I’m listening on audiobook so sometimes I don’t even notice the time jumps. Like, the narrator will state the year at the beginning of the chapter but it doesn’t really click right away. Luckily he’s able to voice everyone differently so I can tell at least who’s usually associated with whom.

      And I’m glad to hear it! I definitely liked the second one more than the first so hopefully it’ll keep going in an upward slope for me too 😀

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
Delphine's Babble on Some Good Reads

Good books, a loud silence, and a sleepy conscious is the ideal life.

flowlessbooks.wordpress.com/

Happiness is a cup of coffee and a good book

150 Characters and more...

...Because some things in life cannot be expressed with a mere 150 characters.

~Tales of Fantasy and Adventure

a living portfolio of maremma gee

MetalPhantasmReads

Book reviews, tags and music stuff

