RSS

Top 5 Wednesday: Authors You Discovered This Year

21 Oct

Top 5 Wednesday

Do you know how long it’s been since I made a T5W post? Because it’s been weeks. Goodness. As usual, T5W was made by Lainey, and here is the full list of posters, should you want to join :”D

This week’s topic is top authors I’ve discovered this year. And if you saw or read my previous post, you know one of the ones on the list already, hawhaw.

5. George RR Martin, author of the A Song of Ice and Fire series

I’m definitely late to the band wagon on this author. I didn’t read the first book in this series until earlier this year, but holy cow, it’s awesome. I was initially a bit wary of starting the series, both because of the hype surrounding it and the sheer size of the things. The time commitment required for these buggers though is well worth it. I’m really glad I started reading this series and once I catch up, I will hunt down his other publications and devour them too.

4. Tammara Webber, author of the Contours of the Heart series

This author I picked because she introduced me to a new genre. The first book in her series, Easy, was my first experience reading a new adult book. It was nice reading about a romance that wasn’t harlequin nor about a fifteen year old. I had heard that such books existed but had never actually found one in a bookstore near me. And then I saw this baby on the clearance shelf at my local B&N and after hearing nonstop praise for it, decided to splurge the four bucks for it. And since, I’ve hunted down the second one as well. Gonna read it pretty soon here I hope – it’s sitting on my shelf, glaring at me.

3. Sabaa Tahir, author of the An Ember in the Ashes series

I feel like the marketers of this book really know what they’re doing. This book was everywhere months before it came out. It was all over blogs, booktube and I even saw posters and pamphlets for it in my local bookstore. And honestly if I hadn’t heard the buzz ahead of time and just would have read the synopsis on the back of the book, I probably wouldn’t have read it. Whoever wrote that blurb made it sound like a star-crossed lovers kind of thing. And it’s so not. I mean, there are hints of romance I suppose, but there is so much more to the book than that. The buzz told me this, the blurb didn’t. This is one of those times I appreciated the hype. This author writes a well-developed, rich world and I can’t wait to read the second one.

2. Peter Clines, author of The Fold

Is this really a surprise. I literally wrote a review* (*see ‘gush’) about it about nine hours ago. I’m still swirling in circles about this book, man.

1. Andy Weir, author of The Martian

This one was another book that the hype helped me. The back doesn’t make it sound like more than a sci-fi, which is all and good, but the comedy was what made me love this book and therefore this author. Mark Watney is a hilarious character. And in combination with his situation, his attitude towards it and then the heavy science topics explained in a way that I could understand, I loved this book. (and it helps that the audiobook I listened to had a fantastic narrator). So I read this and I loved it. Therefore, Andy Weir is definitely my favorite new author of this year.


Ta-da, two posts in a 24 hour period. I’m on a roll. What’s on your list? :”D Link me to your T5W posts!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on 10/21/2015 in Books, Top 5 Wednesday

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Top 5 Wednesday: Authors You Discovered This Year

  1. Nicolette Elzie

    10/21/2015 at 8:03 am

    I totally agree with you about the marketing team for Ember. It was nuts how intense they hit the market to promote the book. I picked it up because their super quick pitch on FB sounded intense. I wasn’t a huge fan on them comparing it to Hunger Games though.

    Like

     
    • embuhlee

      10/21/2015 at 1:12 pm

      Yeah I didn’t see any hunger games in there at all either. And I didn’t even see their fb post, so I guess the campaign was more expansive than I thought, haha

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. Sarah

    10/21/2015 at 8:14 am

    Great picks! I think that hype can be totally helpful sometimes, I’ve discovered some brilliant authors that way 🙂
    I really want to read An Ember in the Ashes and The Martian, these are hyped books I’m excited for!

    Here’s my T5W post: http://sarahschapter.blogspot.co.uk/2015/10/t5w-authors-ive-discovered-this-year.html

    Sarah x
    Sarah’s Chapter

    Like

     
    • embuhlee

      10/21/2015 at 1:13 pm

      Hope you get to them soon and love them! 😀

      Like

       
    • embuhlee

      10/21/2015 at 1:18 pm

      And I read your blog too! I can’t comment though from my WP account. D: But Sarah J Maas is an author that I’ve never read yet. She was on my ‘will never read’ list for a while, but I’ve slowly been growing curious about her. Her being on your list has made me more so.

      Like

       
  3. Tanya Atkinson

    10/21/2015 at 12:28 pm

    Great picks! I really love Tammara Webber. Easy and the follow-up Breakable are two of my favorites. She’s so good at creating a romantic story line with meaning and characters with depth. Love her!

    Tanya @ Girl Plus Books

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • embuhlee

      10/21/2015 at 1:21 pm

      Thanks for the comment! Have you read the third one yet? I haven’t heard too much about it

      And I read your post too (though I can’t comment from my WP account D: ) I haven’t actually heard of any of the authors you mentioned, but reading your post has me looking them up, haha.

      Like

       
      • Tanya Atkinson

        10/21/2015 at 1:51 pm

        I have Sweet but haven’t read it yet. I’ve heard pretty good things about it so I hope to get to it soon. And thanks for checking out mine as well. I understand the commenting thing. For me, I usually can’t comment on blogs where people use Disqus commenting.

        Liked by 1 person

         
  4. SciFi and Scary

    10/21/2015 at 2:41 pm

    Andy Weir is on my list! Peter Clines almost made it, but got edged out by some Indie Author Talent. My Top 5.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • embuhlee

      10/22/2015 at 6:26 am

      I’m assuming it was ‘The Fold’ you read? What did you think about it? I haven’t found anyone else who has read it yet. xD

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • SciFi and Scary

        10/22/2015 at 6:37 am

        If you look under my quicklist, my review is there. Sorry, getting ready for work.

        Like

         
      • embuhlee

        10/22/2015 at 6:38 am

        Will read it! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

         

Leave a Reply

 
Aurora Librialis

Auroralibrialis

Arrvee's Book Diary

Arrvee reading this?

Mai Breaks the Ice

all my life's lessons... in a blog.

Navigating Worlds

A husband and wife adventuring through fantasy worlds together

A Sky of Books and Movies

Books & movies, art and thoughts.

Delphine's Babble on Some Good Reads

Good books, a loud silence, and a sleepy conscious is the ideal life.

flowlessbooks.wordpress.com/

Happiness is a cup of coffee and a good book

150 Characters and more...

...Because some things in life cannot be expressed with a mere 150 characters.

