RSS

Top 5 Wednesday: Halloween Recommendations

28 Oct

I’m so excited for this topic. Halloween is a fun holiday, though I really don’t do much for it aside from read books, haha. Someone invite me to a Halloween party, dammit.

T5W was created by Lainey, and here is the list of posters if you’d like to join.

Here are my top Halloween Recommendations:

5. Horrorstör by Grady Hendrix

Horrorstör

This book showed up a lot last year during Halloween and for good reason. This is a pretty funny horror story. This book is set in an Ikea knockoff store and it reads like a catalog. It starts off with simple things like chairs and tables and stuff, but as the main story progresses, the advertisements slowly turn into more gruesome and creepy devices. The story itself is pretty entertaining, though not exactly 100% original. It’s like watching a typical horror movie in a book, but with the entertaining twist that I mentioned. Overall, it’s totally worth a read if you’re looking for something creepy and something fast.

4. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

FrankensteinI hope that this one will be on a lot of lists today. It’s a classic!

Frankenstein is one of those books I was forced to read in high school and ended up loving. If you haven’t read it yet and are looking to get into classics, why not start here? It’s good timing.

3. The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey

The Monstrumologist (The Monstrumologist, #1)This book man. This book. Rick Yancey. Have you read is 5th Wave book? Did you notice how he has a bit of difficulty writing romance? Well, that problem only deals with romance. With horror, he. is. in. his. element. I dreamed about the monsters in this book for days after finishing it. It was so gritty and dark. It had me fearing they were gonna jump out of the shadows of my closet. Reading this book was an experience, and I highly recommend it.

It follows the apprentice of a mad scientist, a Monstrumologist, as they investigate and capture monsters that I couldn’t even dream up in my worst nightmare. Buh. I’m uneasy just thinking about it.

2. Lord Loss by Darren Shan

Lord Loss (The Demonata, #1)I read this book a long while ago, so I don’t remember too much about it other than the completely consuming feeling of horror and disgust I felt while reading it. I think I’m going to try to re-read it soon This is the first book in the Demonata series and from what I’ve heard, the rest are just as good.

This book is fantastic. It has demons and werewolves and chess. Chess. Chess is scary in here. It’s awesome.

1. Diabolo by Kei Kusunoki

Diabolo: Volume 1

This manga is definitely my top pick. It’s about two boys who sell their souls to the devil in exchange for someone’s life. And then they think all is fine and dandy. It’s a soul right? They don’t need it while they’re alive. But then things start to get weird. Maybe you do need your soul.

This series is unnerving, creepy and riveting. I loved reading this. It gave me goosebumps. This series is only three volumes long, so you could easily get through the whole thing in a couple hours. Highly, highly recommend it.

Have you read any of these? Do you have any recs for me based on these? :”D Please and thank you, happy reading!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on 10/28/2015 in Books, Top 5 Wednesday

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Top 5 Wednesday: Halloween Recommendations

  1. SciFi and Scary

    10/28/2015 at 7:37 am

    I added Monstrumologist to my TBR. My book suggestion for you would be: The Girl with all the Gifts by M.R. Carey

    Like

     
    • embuhlee

      10/28/2015 at 9:19 am

      I’ve seen that one floating around – will add it to my list, thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. theorangutanlibrarian

    10/28/2015 at 11:25 am

    Great blog! I’ve never read much horror, so the only book on this list I’ve only read is Frankenstein (which I love) but I’m definitely looking for more recommendations. These books sound awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. Clare Stone

    10/28/2015 at 1:30 pm

    I definitely want to read Horrorstor and The Monstrumologist!
    http://dualreads.blogspot.co.uk/2015/10/top-5-halloween-recommendations.html

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
It's Simply Me, Jasmine

Simply just a teenage girl living in the UK, with her own little corner on the Internet!

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

toomuchofabooknerd

forever crying about YA books

Lainey Kress

BA in English from Iowa | 25 | Writer

stories; from the margins to centre

Exploring stories in all its incarnations

-- Blogging Everything Beautiful --

@jbelkbooks.wordpress.com

