RSS

October Book Haul – #2

29 Oct

Hello, this is my second ever book haul post! Namely, because I usually only buy one book a month, if even. Here is the first haul, if you’re interested. I got a job last month and my paychecks have allowed me a bit more leeway when it comes to book buying, so here we are again. :”D. I have this haul labeled as ‘October’, but likely my future hauls won’t be monthly. I have no idea how I’m going to do it. I’ll figure it out when I get there.

Anyways, I purchased a total of 6 books. Not a lot for some people, but a whole lot for me, haha.

IMG_2198

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by JK Rowling, illustrated by Jim Kay
Not gonna blurb this one, you all know it.

SAS For Dummies by Stephen McDaniel
This is the only nonfiction I bought this month and the only one I’ve acquired for a long time. I got this book as a supplemental resource for the statistical analysis program I was using in my Data Mining class (but of course, right after I bought the book, my professor changed the software we were using, huff). I still plan on going through it though, since as a bioinformatics computer science student, it’s a good tool for me to know and to put on my resume. So yay, self-learning.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
This one, I’ve read already and it has become one of my favorite books. It’s going to become a movie and Liam Neeson is supposedly voicing the monster. HOW COOL IS THAT. This book is about a boy dealing with guilt and loss and a monster. It’s really good, really spooky, really heart-wrenching.

The Fold by Peter Clines
OH MY GOSH. READ IT. HERE’S MY REVIEW.

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
This is Ness’s newest book, came out at the beginning of this month in the States (though September in the UK). This one’s about a guy who’s just trying to live his life as his city gets repeatedly destroyed by some hero and villain or other fighting. It’s basically the story of everyone else. It sounds so fantastic, I’m so excited for it. :”D

Breakable by Tammara Webber
I found this baby on the amazon market place for super cheap. I hunted it down after finished Easy and loving it. I know there’s a third book in the series, which I’ll get to eventually, but for now, this one will do nicely.

IMG_2199And that’s it! Not bad for one month, I don’t think. Hopefully though my spending will slow down – Christmas is coming, need to spend monies on other people, not myself. My guess is my next haul will be after the holidays. I tell people not to buy me things, but sometimes they insist (especially my mother, goodness) so instead of them wasting money on a guess, I give them book titles. They’re relatively cheap, so I don’t feel too bad about receiving them as gifts. @@

Happy reading. :”D

 
14 Comments

Posted by on 10/29/2015 in Book Haul, Books

 

Tags: , , , , ,

14 responses to “October Book Haul – #2

  1. pennma05

    10/29/2015 at 7:48 am

    Looks like a good haul! I also got the Illustrated Harry Potter and The Rest Of Us Just Live Here. I’m saving the Illustrated HP to read in December because it always puts me in the Christmas spirit mood.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • embuhlee

      10/29/2015 at 7:51 am

      Ah, that sounds like an excellent idea – I think I’m going to do that too!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. SciFi and Scary

    10/29/2015 at 8:10 am

    That is a good haul πŸ™‚ I need to read more Ness! (I’ve only ever read the Knife of Never Letting Go)

    Like

     
    • embuhlee

      10/29/2015 at 8:22 am

      Did you like it? If so, start with the rest of the series, it’s fantastic! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • SciFi and Scary

        10/29/2015 at 8:23 am

        I’m afraid to start the second one in the series. I have this…phobia..of trilogies. lmao. I prefer to just read the first book, and let my imagination take care of the rest.

        …I’ll read it at some point. lol

        Like

         
      • embuhlee

        10/29/2015 at 8:40 am

        Hahaha, that’s something you don’t see every day. xD Well, if you ever do decide to read them, let me know so we can goo over them. :”D

        Liked by 1 person

         
      • SciFi and Scary

        10/29/2015 at 8:46 am

        I blame it on Arthur C. Clarke! The man is fantastic at 1st books in trilogies, and absolute pants at the 2nd book. Its a trained reaction at this point!

        Like

         
      • SciFi and Scary

        10/29/2015 at 8:47 am

        I can’t remember if you’re the one I was talking about the 5th wave with… if so.. I just posted my review of it πŸ™‚ If not, disregard!

        Like

         
  3. booksarebadass

    10/29/2015 at 8:53 am

    I wasn’t really sure what Patrick Ness’s new book was about, but now I’m dying to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. Jeyna Grace

    10/29/2015 at 11:11 pm

    Awesome haul! Especially the Harry Potter book πŸ˜€

    Like

     
    • embuhlee

      10/30/2015 at 5:42 am

      I know, I was so happy to get it :”D The 5th book is gonna be the size and weight of a cement slab when it comes out, haha.

      Like

       
      • Jeyna Grace

        10/30/2015 at 11:40 am

        Haha! That’s one awesome cement slab if you ask me.

        Liked by 1 person

         
  5. eleonora_lydia

    11/21/2015 at 2:21 pm

    I know what you mean about presents. I always feel uncomfortable when someone asks me what I want, because I have no idea how much money they want/are able to spend.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
It's Simply Me, Jasmine

Simply just a teenage girl living in the UK, with her own little corner on the Internet!

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

toomuchofabooknerd

forever crying about YA books

Lainey Kress

BA in English from Iowa | 25 | Writer

stories; from the margins to centre

Exploring stories in all its incarnations

-- Blogging Everything Beautiful --

@jbelkbooks.wordpress.com

