RSS

Book Review: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

21 Nov

The Night CircusThe Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not.

The Night Circus is more than a book, it’s an experience. As the author unravels a tale that sweeps you away, you find your heart yearning to walk through the tents, to witness the feats within. This book is alluring in a sense that when you finish reading it, you feel separated, part of you still trapped within its pages.

I finished this book five minutes ago, and I’m already fighting the temptation to pick it up again and reread it. This book enchanted me. And while you won’t find any grand adventure or daring rescue within its pages, it will still pull you in, encircling you until you can smell the caramel apples, feel the warmth of the bonfire, feel your heartstrings tighten when you read about a performance as if you were sitting in the crowd witnessing it instead.

This book is the atmosphere it creates. It lets you get away from your worries and jump into a world that hides just behind a curtain. Magic and illusion become indistinguishable and a lot of the time you find yourself wondering which is which.

From the mysterious midnight dinners where the guests invited are treated to course after course of unidentified but always somehow magnificent food to the bonfire that seems to keep anyone from aging and the two magicians the book is about themselves, each element of this book is intricately woven together to create a story that you find yourself entranced by. The characters interact and intermix with each other in a way that solidifies them in their places. Each character plays a bigger part in the story than you realize and as each intention and action is slowly revealed, the seemingly random events that happen throughout the book become far less so.

The Night Circus is a book that I believe I will be thinking about for a long time. I feel like it’s one of those books that when you read it, you think, Well now there’s something different. I highly enjoyed this book and the atmosphere it created. I enjoyed being sucked into the circus and feeling my heart dance around in my chest as the story and its characters progressed. I think my favorite part about it was just a small detail: The midnight dinners. They just sound so… magical. They make me want to host my own (and when I get a larger apartment with actual sitting space, I may well do just that).

Overall, this book was a joy, and I highly, highly recommend it.

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on 11/21/2015 in Books, Review

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “Book Review: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

  1. alilovesbooks

    11/21/2015 at 4:32 pm

    I’ve been planning to start this book for a while but have never gotten around to it. Your review makes me think I should really read it now.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. eleonora_lydia

    11/21/2015 at 7:03 pm

    I’ve wanted to read this book for such a long time, but I keep forgetting about it. I will probably read it sometime in December.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. Ayunda

    11/28/2015 at 2:09 pm

    I really really liked this book too!

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
It's Simply Me, Jasmine

Simply just a teenage girl living in the UK, with her own little corner on the Internet!

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

toomuchofabooknerd

forever crying about YA books

Lainey Kress

BA in English from Iowa | 25 | Writer

stories; from the margins to centre

Exploring stories in all its incarnations

-- Blogging Everything Beautiful --

@jbelkbooks.wordpress.com

