RSS

November Wrap-up and December Currently Reading

28 Nov

Hello! Due to Nanowrimo (which I failed miserably) combined with classes I didn’t read much this month. I completed three graphic novels, one novel and one audiobook.

They are:

Amulet volumes 4 and 5 by Kazu Kibuishi –
I’m almost caught up on this one now I think. There are six or seven out, I believe. This series is a cute, light read that I’ve been zooming through by borrowing them through the library. Each book so far as rated a 3-4 stars for me, which is good. I like them. Don’t love them, but I like them, enough to continue the series.

American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang –
I feel like I’m missing something with this guy’s books. I’ve read this one and his other two, Boxers and Saints. Whenever I see anyone reading these, they always rave about them like they’re the second coming or something. And honestly I just thought they were alright. If I remember correctly, each one got a 3 star rating from me but now that I think about it, I feel like maybe it should be a 2.5. I don’t know. This book nor the other ones ever clicked for me, unfortunately. I just don’t see the appeal.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas –
If you have been following my blog for a while ago, there is a chance you remember this post, the ‘Top 5 Books I will never read. Ever’ post. Guess what book was on that post that I’ve since read. I even wrote a blog post highlighting my hypocritical ways. Aaaaand, I liked this book. Really liked it. Didn’t love it, but really liked it. I have the second one borrowed from the library currently and hopefully will get through it before the due date.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern –
This was by far my favorite book of the month, though since it was an audiobook and as I mentioned classes and Nano earlier, it took me more like two months to get through it. Regardless, I highly enjoyed this book. It was a pure delight reading it. If you’re curious, I wrote a full review where I try to be all captivating about it and probably fail. Check it out if you’d like.


 

Onto Currently Reading!

According to Goodreads, I’m currently reading the following:

Though honestly it’s really only the first two that I’ve made any progress on recently. The others have been sitting on my bedside table for a loooong time. I just keep getting distracted by other books. I’ll get to them eventually!

And since this is for December, I get to pull my final TBR Jar Challenge slip, which turned out to be Read a New-to-you author. Aaand considering Yeonmi Park is new to me, hey look at that, I did it.

Otherwise, I made this post recently of books I want to get to before the end of the year, which is what I’m probably going to stick to until January 1st. If I can get more in, fantastic, but we’ll see what happens.

And I’ve mentioned in a past post that I’ll be doing Blogmas this year, so expect a lot of posts from me, including one or two ‘year in review’ things that pop up and ‘reading goals’ blah de blah. You know, the typical end of year posts.

I’ve also been tagged in two book tags that I have yet to get to (I haven’t forgotten, dun worry) so those will be up sometime this month too.


Well that’s it for me. Hope you all read good books this month. Happy reading!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 11/28/2015 in Books, Currently Reading, Wrap-up

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “November Wrap-up and December Currently Reading

  1. theorangutanlibrarian

    11/28/2015 at 3:17 pm

    Haha glad you caved on the Throne of Glass- it’s one of those series that just gets better and better, so you’ve got lots to look forward to!

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
Aurora Librialis

Auroralibrialis

Arrvee's Book Diary

Arrvee reading this?

Mai Breaks the Ice

all my life's lessons... in a blog.

Navigating Worlds

A husband and wife adventuring through fantasy worlds together

A Sky of Books and Movies

Books & movies, art and thoughts.

Delphine's Babble on Some Good Reads

Good books, a loud silence, and a sleepy conscious is the ideal life.

flowlessbooks.wordpress.com/

Happiness is a cup of coffee and a good book

150 Characters and more...

...Because some things in life cannot be expressed with a mere 150 characters.

