RSS

Book Review: Addicted to You by Krista Ritchie

06 Jan

Addicted to You (Addicted, #1)Addicted to You by Krista Ritchie

Pages: 334
Genre: New Adult

This review will be mildly spoilery

I was pretty excited for this book when I first picked it up. I had heard some really great things about it and it drew me right in. Having only read one or two other series in the new adult genre before, I hadn’t come across any I would consider bad. Well, now I have. I think Addicted to You is infuriating.

I think the main problem I had with this book stems from a personal bias of my own. So really, if the stuff I name doesn’t bother you, you’ll probably enjoy this book more than I did.

I am very much of the mind of ‘You need to help yourself’. Don’t get me wrong – I am all for programs that help people cope with addiction and recovery. I think they’re wonderful programs and should be getting far more funding than they are. Addiction is a disease and needs treated as such. I’m not saying those with addictions are bad people. Please don’t misconstrue my words. What I’m saying is I have very little patience for people who know they have a problem, want it to change, but do nothing about it and just sit there and complain. Like, people who don’t even try but then get upset that they’re not getting better.

This book was full of that. I lost count of how many times the main character fell into the mind set of ‘Waah, my addiction is so awful. I wish I wasn’t this way. I wish I would change. But hell no I am not cutting down on this stuff. Nope. Not even gonna try. I want to keep my actions the exact same way but magically it be not a problem.’

I mean, it could have gone two other ways:

  1. The characters could have realized their addictions and tried to better themselves (whether they succeeded or failed)
  2. The characters  could have realized their addictions, decided they didn’t care and done nothing.

Either of these ways would have been more tolerable for me. I’m not saying both of these are good things. I’m saying neither of these scenarios would highlight the characters as being whiny brats. Throughout the book, the main character would constantly complain about her sex addiction, but when presented the opportunity to even slightly cut back, she wouldn’t even try. It got to the point where she was wallowing in self-pity because she wasn’t changing her ways (even though she hadn’t tried) and then thought, “I bet sex will make me feel better about feeling bad about needing sex so much”

I mean really. I’m not saying this book was unbelievable. I know these sorts of situations happen. I’m just saying that I was frustrated and had no sympathy. I should have, but I didn’t. Not until the very end of the book did the characters even mildly redeem themselves. Seriously. *spoiler* Within the last five pages of the book, the main character thought, ‘Huh maybe I should try therapy’.

There was a whole slew of other things that annoyed me about the main characters. Like *spoiler* the main character worrying about how her boyfriend, who she supposedly loves, drinking less would affect her ability to have sex. That’s what she was worried about. Sure, she flitted with the idea of ‘it’ll make him healthier’ and ‘he’ll stop blacking out’, but no, she never actually did anything for fear of him saying ‘We need to work on your addiction too’. Her addiction isn’t one that could kill her. Her boyfriend’s was. She’s an adult. She should see that his life is more important than an orgasm. But she didn’t want to for fear of threatening their relationship. You can’t have a relationship if your boyfriend is dead. Holy cow.

It reminds me of a skit Louis CK did, talking about giving up his 1st class airplane ticket to a soldier heading off to war. He didn’t actually do it, but he talked about how he felt so much better about himself for even thinking about the possibility of doing it. I feel that’s what the main character did. She decided thinking ‘If I change, he can get better’ was enough and didn’t actually care enough to try changing (nor did he for her until the very, very end).

The skit, for the curious:

So yes. The entire book was irritating, I hated the main characters. I’ve read books concerning addiction before and none of them have ever come even remotely close to this level of helplessness. I mean seriously, people.

The only only redeeming quality was the two friends that the couple made. The friends, shockingly enough were decent people and tried to help them with their problems immediately, even though it jeopardized the friendship. That’s what a friend does. If you love someone, that’s what you do. You help them. You don’t keep to yourself to maintain your own lifestyle and still claim to love them. Because if you actually did love them, you’d help them.

I feel that’s what irritated me the most. Both of the characters claimed to love each other, yet were maintaining lifestyles that harmed the other person. They’d say ‘love’, then do something stupid, then think ‘my addiction is hurting this person that I love’ and then be completely unmotivated to do anything about it. I just. I have no sympathy.

Rating: 2/5 stars, and that’s generous.

 

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 01/06/2016 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Book Review: Addicted to You by Krista Ritchie

Leave a Reply

 
It's Simply Me, Jasmine

Simply just a teenage girl living in the UK, with her own little corner on the Internet!

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

toomuchofabooknerd

forever crying about YA books

Lainey Kress

BA in English from Iowa | 25 | Writer

stories; from the margins to centre

Exploring stories in all its incarnations

-- Blogging Everything Beautiful --

@jbelkbooks.wordpress.com

