RSS

Soundtrack to My Life Book Tag

16 Feb

STML Book Tag Banner

Here I am, after about a fortnight. I’ve been tagged by Orang-utan Librarian to do this lovely thing, so thank you. 😀

OPENING CREDITS: Favorite childhood book

Tawny Scrawny Lion

The Tawny Scrawny Lion by Kathryn Jackson. Originally published in 1952, I think this book is one that my mother grew up with, which is likely why she read it to me over and over again when I was little. I think she still has my copy tucked away in a box somewhere. I think. I hope. I’ll need to go look.

 

WAKING UP: A book that got you out of a reading slump

The Dark City (Relic Master, #1)The Dark City by Catherine Fisher. This is the first book of the Relic Master series, which I can’t recommend enough. I started this book shortly before coming across book blogs or booktube, so it’s the one that got me actually looking for communities to talk about books with, which got me reading books at a pace I never had before. And aside from that, this is a fantastic series. I love it. I read it almost two years ago now and I still think about it.

 

SCHOOL: A book you had to read for school that you ended up loving

There are a couple, actually. The ones that stick out the most are The Giver by Lois Lowry, Frankenstein by Mary Shelley and The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. We’ll just ignore the stack of books that I ended up not liking, because those are the ones that a lot of people tend to like.

The Book ThiefThe Giver (The Giver, #1)Frankenstein

FALLING IN LOVE: An author you love so much you want to read all of their books

Again, Catherine Fisher. I’ve buzzed through her Relic Master series and her Incarceron duology. She also a couple other series that I have yet to get to. BUT I’LL GET THERE EVENTUALLY.

FIGHT: Book with the best action sequences

Rurouni Kenshin, Vol. 1 (Rurouni Kenshin, #1)Rurouni Kenshin by Nobuhiro Watsuki. It’s a manga, I know, kind of cheating when it comes to action sequences. But still, there are some really intense showdowns in this series and the way the art flows, I’m never confused as to what’s happening or who’s winning or where the different characters are. It’s all so clear and so fast-paced. I love it.

 

BREAK UP: A book or series you didn’t finish and do not intend to finish

There are a good few. I’m just going to link my ‘did not finish‘ shelf from goodreads here and be done with it.

HANGING WITH FRIENDS: Book you think everyone else should read

Scar Night (Deepgate Codex, #1)Scar Night by Alan Campbell. Because really, how is a book about renegade angels in a city dangling by an endless abyss by chains not something that you want to read?! DO IT. I love it. The characters are all so awesome, the writing is encompassing, it’s wonderful. And because I’m pushing this book so hard, here’s the goodreads synopsis:

Suspended by chains over a seemingly bottomless abyss, the ancient city of Deepgate is home to a young angel, an assassin, and a psychotic murderer hungry for revenge or redemption. But soon a shocking betrayal will unite all three in a desperate quest…. The last of his line, Dill is descended from legendary Battle-archons who once defended the city. Forbidden to fly and untrained even to wield the great sword inherited from his forebears, he has become a figurehead for a dying tradition. Now he lives a sheltered existence in one of Deepgate’s crumbling temple spires under the watchful eye of the Presbyter who rules the city. Spine assassin Rachel Hael has better things to do than oversee the Presbyter’s angel. Each dark moon she must fight for her life among the city chains, hunting an immortal predator with a taste for blood. But when a traitor brings enemies to Deepgate’s doorstep, Dill and Rachel are forced into an uneasy alliance with the city’s oldest and most dangerous foe. They must journey down into the uncharted chasm to save their sprawling metropolis and themselves from annihilation. Once they descend however, they learn that what lies below is far more sinister than what they’ve been taught to expect

DO IT.

BREAKDOWN:Book that seriously affected you/had you crying your eyes out

Monsters of Men (Chaos Walking, #3)I mention this one a lot, but Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness. I didn’t cry during this book. It wasn’t really a sad book persay. I mean, it had its moments. but otherwise. This book though. I finished it, closed the cover, set it down, and then I bawled. This book had pent up so much emotion in me that when I reached the end, it all came out at once. Wahh, I still think about it.

 

ROADTRIP: You favourite series (more than 3 books)

His Majesty's Dragon (Temeraire, #1)Aside from the catch-all Harry Potter and aside from any series I’ve already mentioned above, it has to Naomi Novik’s Temeraire series. It’s about aerial tactical combat on the backs of dragons during the Napoleonic Wars. It. Is. Awesome. I feel like this should have been my ‘best fight scenes’ choice, but I wanted to use it here instead. Seriously, go read. There are eight books in the series with a ninth being published this coming summer. I’ve read… four of them. xD So I still have a ways to go myself. But the four that I did read were AWESOME. Writing about them now makes me want to go reread the ones I already have and then buzz through the rest. This series is so well-written, so well-researched and so well-executed. It’s so, so, so good.

Again, the goodread synopsis, because I always need more people to talk about my absolute favorites with:

Aerial combat brings a thrilling new dimension to the Napoleonic Wars as valiant warriors ride mighty fighting dragons, bred for size or speed. When HMS Reliant captures a French frigate and seizes the precious cargo, an unhatched dragon egg, fate sweeps Captain Will Laurence from his seafaring life into an uncertain future – and an unexpected kinship with a most extraordinary creature. Thrust into the rarified world of the Aerial Corps as master of the dragon Temeraire, he will face a crash course in the daring tactics of airborne battle. For as France’s own dragon-borne forces rally to breach British soil in Bonaparte’s boldest gambit, Laurence and Temeraire must soar into their own baptism of fire.

FLASHBACK: Your favorite book from 5 years ago

Catching Fire (The Hunger Games, #2)Oh boy, need to check my goodreads for this one. In 2011, I read 13 books (see, I told you I read more now that I have this blog) and my favorite from that year was definitely Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins. I remember actually reading this during a road trip I took to visit a friend. My other friend and I rented a car and drove down, and the friend we were visiting had this on her shelf. I had just finished the first one, so I dove at it. We were there for three days, I spent two of them reading this. And I wasn’t even being rude – the other two were reading the whole time, too. :”D

GETTING BACK TOGETHER: What book can you not stop rereading

For this one, I have to say Harry Potter. When I was younger, we weren’t exactly wealthy, so I didn’t have my own set of these things. I would rent them from the library over and over again – I probably read the first five books a good twenty times each. The sixth and seventh I’ve only read two or three times since I had my own by then, but the first five man, it was like clockwork. I’d rent two out, read them, return them, get the next two, and when I reached the fifth one, I’d rerent the first one again. Over and over. For years. I haven’t read them in a while though – the first three I read back in 2014 to a client I was working with when I still worked with autistic children, but other than that, nada.

WEDDING: A book that is really special to you

Ella EnchantedElla Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine. This is another book I would rent and rerent from the library. It was the first book I remember reading that wasn’t Harry Potter than I became obsessed with. It had a positive role model for young girls and I just love that. I own my own copy that I found battered and bruised at a second hand store, and I loves it.

 

MOMENT OF TRIUMPH: Longest book you’ve ever read

A Clash of Kings (A Song of Ice and Fire, #2)That would be A Clash of Kings by George RR Martin. It’s over 1000 pages. Woof.

 

 

 

DEATH SCENE: Book or series you wish had ended differently

God of Clocks (Deepgate Codex, #3)The Deepgate Codex by Alan Campbell. That is the series to which Scar Night that I mentioned above belongs. I didn’t dislike the ending by any means, I just wish there was more. A whole fourth book could have been written with the loose ends that were still there at the end of God of Clocks (the third book). GIMME ANOTHER.

FUNERAL: Book with the best or worst epilogue

Come to think of it, not a lot of the books I read actually have epilogues. Honestly the only one I can think of is the one in Harry Potter, which I kind of feel indifferent about. Who let Harry pick the name of his kid. He’s awful at it. Ginny, what were you doing when this was happening?!


And that’s it! This was fun to do after not posting for a while. :”D My apologies about that, by the way. Classes this semester are a bit rough. But lucky me, today is a snow day. An inch of ice, three inches of snow, and then another inch of ice will do that.

 

Happy reading!

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 02/16/2016 in Book Tag, Books

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Soundtrack to My Life Book Tag

  1. theorangutanlibrarian

    02/16/2016 at 8:54 pm

    Glad you did this! 😀 Wow you were set some cool books at school- the book thief and Michael Morpurgo? That’s excellent!Ahh haven’t we all reread HP a gazillion times? Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

toomuchofabooknerd

forever crying about YA books

Lainey Kress

BA in English from Iowa | 25 | Writer

stories; from the margins to centre

Exploring stories in all its incarnations

-- Blogging Everything Beautiful --

@jbelkbooks.wordpress.com

The Sleepless Corner

Where sleep comes to die

Tales of a Bookaholic

Book passions, literary loves, reviews, and all things bookish

Books In Her Eyes

Stories Flowing Through Her Veins

