RSS

The Playlist Shuffle Tag

24 Feb

playlistshufflebanner

A tag day! I was tagged by Orang-utan Librarian, and though this isn’t book related, it looked super fun. :”D So I’m going to do it!

The Rules are to put your music on shuffle and link the first 15 songs that get spit out. This will either be a really good representation of what I listen to or a really bad one. I have a lot of music, though it’s music I’ve collected for over fifteen years. I am going to add one caveat to these rules: I’m going to skip the song if I’ve never actually listened to it before. This way, I can at least talk a little bit about the thing whether it currently suits my tastes or not. So here we go!

Song: Funny Bunny
Artist: The Pillows (from the anime FLCL)
Genre: Alt Rock
If you’ve never seen FLCL, this music video I feel sums it up really well. It’s super weird but super great.

Song: American Idiot
Artist: Green Day
Genre: Punk rock
I used to listen to this a lot when I was 15, and then Green Day became ‘weird’… and now I totally listen to it a lot again. :”D GREEN DAY FOREVER, MAN.

Song: Don’t Stop Believing
Artist: Northern Kings (cover)
Genre: Symphonic metal
This is a cover of Boston’s song. The Northern Kings are a group of singers made up of the main vocalists from four different big Scandinavian metal bands. They go around doing metal covers of popular songs. Some are awesome, some are not. This one is.

Song: Florence Tarantella
Artist: Jesper Kyd (from the game Assassin’s Creed)
Genre: Orchestral
Haven’t play (all of) the games yet, but its music.

Song: Away
Artist: Nightwish
Genre: Symphonic metal
This song is a nice, slower song from the band, featuring their original singer. It’s lovely.

Song:  Cyanide Sweet Tooth Suicide
Artist: Shinedown
Genre: Hard rock
Whenever I listen to this one, I think of driving to work over and over again. Association, dammit.

Song: Drunken Lullabies
Artist: Flogging Molly
Genre: Irish Rock
I’ve seen this band live twice now. They’re a bunch of fun. 😀

Song: Rider of the Last Day
Artist: Tarot
Genre: Power metal
If you know Nightwish at all, this is the band that Marco’s been in even longer. I dig it.

Song: Active Imagination
Artist: Molice
Genre: New Wave Alternative
This is a band my SO got me into. He’s really into Japanese music since he speaks it (intermediate level) and this is one of the bands that really stuck with me.

Song: Robbery, Assault and Battery
Artist: Genesis
Genre: Progressive Rock
This is one of my childhood songs. My mom’s a big fan and because of her I’ll forever have a crush on Phil Collins

Song: Battle of One
Artist: 30 Seconds to Mars
Genre: Alternative Rock
I didn’t care for this band much until the last couple years or so. I know, I know, I missed out on prime teenage-angst music as a teenager. But whatever. I’ll angst now. Quarter-life crises are real things.

Song: Smoke and Mirrors
Artist: Bee Gees
Genre: Pop Disco
Everyone loves the Bee Gees, don’t lie to yourself.

Song: The Islander
Artist: Nightwish
Genre: Symphonic metalI saw these guys live last year and Marco played this song as a solo acoustic. The audience died. And I’m seeing them again TONIGGHTTTTT!!!!!!

Song: Best of You
Artist: Foo Fighters
Genre: Rock
I LOVE this band. It’s one of my favorites. Dave Grohl Dave Grooooohlll. ❤

Song: Hand of Sorrow
Artist: Within Temptation
Genre: Symphonic Metal
This is the one band I haven’t seen come near me in tours yet. Hopefully they’ll get here. Or I’ll get there. Wherever.


And that’s it! 15 songs. They mostly represent my music tastes. There are a couple odd balls, but that’s okay.

 

I tage Ace. Do it.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 02/24/2016 in Music

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “The Playlist Shuffle Tag

  1. theorangutanlibrarian

    03/01/2016 at 5:03 pm

    glad you did this- sorry it took so long for me to check it out. The Bee Jees are fun and I loved greenday when I was a teenager- I still know all the words to Jesus of Suburbia!

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
Delphine's Babble on Some Good Reads

Good books, a loud silence, and a sleepy conscious is the ideal life.

flowlessbooks.wordpress.com/

Happiness is a cup of coffee and a good book

150 Characters and more...

...Because some things in life cannot be expressed with a mere 150 characters.

~Tales of Fantasy and Adventure

a living portfolio of maremma gee

MetalPhantasmReads

Book reviews, tags and music stuff

