RSS

Book Fangirling Blog Award!

06 Mar

book fangirling award.png

Hello! It’s Sunday the 6th and I’m on spring break! I’ve slowly been accumulating tags and posts that I’ve been meaning to do and now is my chance to bang them all out on my keyboard! So if you’ve tagged me in anything recently, please remind me! My memory is horrid. I might just make a new page on my blog called ‘Stuff Emily was tagged in but hasn’t posted yet because she’s a ding dong’ to help me keep track of everything.

Anyways, I was nominated for the Book Fangirling Award by Orang-utan Librarian. Thank you! :”D Reading through this one, it looks like tons of fun. (And I know you’ve since tagged me in one other thing. Just one, right? I’m not forgetting anything?! @@) So anyways, onto the award!

The Rules

  • Create a post to accept your award
  • Add the blog award button into your post (just save the picture to your computer and upload it) and put it on the side of your blog as a widget
  • Link to the creator in the post so they know who has given you the award
  • Answer the questions I have set below
  • Nominate between 5-10 book bloggers who you think deserve this award
  • Come up with your own 5 questions for your nominees
  • Link them to this post so that they know the rules

Orang-utan Librarian’s questions to me

What’s your favourite fandom?

Definitely the Inuyasha fandom. I haven’t really participated too much in it since I was a teenager, but that’s where I met a lot of my now closest friends online. Inuyasha at this point makes me feel really nostalgic. It was my favorite show/manga when I was in my mid to late teens and therefore I consider it part of my ‘becoming an individual’ years, I guess. Whenever I see it on TV, I watch it and sit there and remember all the people around me and everything that happened when I was younger. I’m feeling nostalgic just thinking of it now, actually. xD I still collect the manga. I think the series has completed, but I only have up through the early 20s in volumes. Long way to go, haha.

What book/series/character etc do you fangirl over the most?

My first ‘fangirling’ occurred when I was sixteen and was watching, you guessed it, Inuyasha. In the series, the main character has a brother named Sesshoumaru, who I became a tad obsessed with. I read fanfiction about the guy, I went out and bought the little plush version of him, yada yada. I liked him so much because he was such a strong and calm cool collected character that you’d think he was an ice block, but at the same time, he obviously had a softer maybe even humorous side that you didn’t get the see in the series but was alluded to heavily, if that makes sense. It made for a lot of really good fanfiction, let me tell ya.

What book series has a massive fanbase, but you couldn’t get on board with it?

That would be the Twilight series. I’m actually one of ‘those people’. The ones that read the series, decided it wasn’t awful, but then came to hate it when it took off and became really popular. Why? The fans. (If you’re a fan, don’t take this personally). A few of my friends became die hard fans and just the amount they talked about it and tried to force shippings down my throat and got angry at me, angry, when I didn’t agree or didn’t feel as strongly got really annoying really quickly. So I dissociated myself from the series. Decided to just call myself someone who disliked it instead of ‘small fan’ just so I didn’t get people saying ‘well you should like it MORE‘. Saying I disliked it was a good deterrent, haha. Like I said, nothing against the series or the people who like it in a normal, healthy manner. Just those around me went a tad crazy and it made me associate it with arguments, so. There you go. xD

Do you have any fandom merch? Please share photos!

I do! I have two anime plushies (Sesshomaru from Inuyasha and Kenshin from Rurouni Kenshin), and various anime keychains, T-shirts and action figures, but they’re all at my parents’ place in storage, so I can’t take a picture. 😦 I also have a wallet with Jake’s face on it from Adventure Time and the pocket watch from Fullmetal Alchemist! And I actually have a picture of that one! I’m sure I have a few other things here and there, but like I said, a lot of it is in storage. I’m moving in a couple weeks though, so I’ll have to go home and go through it all – maybe I’ll make a dedicated post to merch. xD

The pocket watch (It even says ‘Don’t forget on the inside! I about died when I saw it):

What’s the best name for any fandom you’ve ever heard? (Whether or not you’re a part of it)

That would be the Cumberbitches, fans of Benedict Cumberbatch, who if you don’t know plays Sherlock in BBC’s Sherlock. And a name even better I think, is the one he came up with himself. When he heard his fans were calling themselves Cumberbitches, he was all ‘You shouldn’t call yourself a bad name. You can all be the Cumbercookies! That way when you come together, you’re a Cumberbatch!’. GET IT?! GET IT?! I like that guy, he’s good.


My nominations

Ace @allboutthembooksandstuff
Panda @pandasbooks
Analee @booksnacksblog
Shivii @browneyedmusings
Amanda @ladycorvinous
Nora @readingexperienceswithnora

My questions for you

  1. How many fandoms would you call yourself an ‘active participant’ in and what are they?
  2. Do you read fanfiction in your fandoms? If so, share your favorite one!
  3. (Stealing Orang-utan Librarian’s question) Do you have any merch? If so, take a picture!
  4. Is there a character/series/show that you would like to become a fan of but don’t know where to start?
  5. Have you made any friends purely from being a member of a fandom? Are you still friend with these people? If they’re internet friends, have you met up with any in real life? Do you plan to?

And that’s it! This award made me feel really nostalgic, man. I need to go rewatch Inuyasha now, thank you. And when I was writing this, I was tagged in one of those ‘you never forget the kids you grew up with’ posts on facebook. What are the odds. xD They’re all the ones I watched Inuyasha with, haha.

Happy reading!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on 03/06/2016 in Book Tag, Books, Nominations

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Book Fangirling Blog Award!

  1. theorangutanlibrarian

    03/06/2016 at 12:15 pm

    Great post 😀 Glad you did it! I like that pocketwatch (though I’m not familiar with Fullmetal Alchemist)- ooh I’d love to see a merch post! But I know what you mean about things being in storage- loads of my books are. I didn’t know that about Cumberbatch wanting them to change their name to Cumbercookies- that’s hilarious!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • embuhlee

      03/06/2016 at 12:50 pm

      It was a lot of fun! And if I do a merch post, I’m tagging you in it and you do one too. xD SO PREPARE

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. Nora

    03/07/2016 at 2:53 am

    Thanks so much for the nomination! I’ll try to write my own post as soon as possible 😀

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
Delphine's Babble on Some Good Reads

Good books, a loud silence, and a sleepy conscious is the ideal life.

flowlessbooks.wordpress.com/

Happiness is a cup of coffee and a good book

150 Characters and more...

...Because some things in life cannot be expressed with a mere 150 characters.

~Tales of Fantasy and Adventure

a living portfolio of maremma gee

MetalPhantasmReads

Book reviews, tags and music stuff

