RSS

Book Review: Leviathan Wakes by James S. A. Corey

02 May

Leviathan Wakes (Expanse, #1)Leviathan Wakes by James S. A. Corey

Read January 21, 2016 – May 2, 2016
Pages: 561
Genre: Science fiction

Leviathan Wakes is a space opera set after human kind has made it out among the planets of our solar system, but not past them. It primarily follows two characters, both with very different perspectives on the same morals.

There’s Miller, a cop from the asteroid belt obsessed with a missing persons case, and Holden, an ice miner from Earth that finds a ship he was not supposed to.

And I must say, that I loved this book so, so, so much.

Usually, the possibility of me loving a book happens towards the end of it and solidifies if the ending is what I hoped it would be. But with this one, I was smitten 80 pages in. There was just something about it – the world building, the characters, the writing, the intermittent horror and shock elements mixed into the scifi setting. All of it just blended together so well and caught me hook, line and sinker.

The story opens on the two characters – Miller as stated is given an assignment to track down a missing woman who ran away from home to find adventure among the stars, and Holden, in the middle of a mining mission when he finds himself in a compromising situation that catalyzes the entire story. Their paths slowly come together, their two seemingly unrelated situations being anything but. Conspiracy, action, horror, and even touches of noir all effected the tone of this book and it was intoxicating.

The book was full of cliffhangers and jaw-droppers and I found myself yelling at the damn thing many times. You know those books where something happens in them and you just have to close it and take a minute to catch your breath or come to terms with the latest string of events? Well, this book did that for me more times than I could count.

I think one of my favorite things about this book is the time setting. You either read books about humans solely on Earth or humans after they’ve spread out amongst the stars. You never early about the early stages – where we’ve achieved space travel but haven’t left the solar system yet. It was unique read as it didn’t feel like it took place thousands of years from now. Hundreds, maybe. Enough time for outer-planet dialects to develop, for humans to disperse to Mars, to the belt, and each area develop their own society, all held together by the fragile bond of shared humanity. It was a fascinating dynamic and it left me wanting more.

I finished this book and was tempted to change out of my pjs at 8pm and go out the to bookstore and be ‘that person’ showing up five minutes before close just so I could buy the second one. I need it, I tell you.

I haven’t yet – I managed to convince myself to write this first, and there’s a Pens game on… but I might still bite the bullet and go. Forty minutes and counting until the bookstore closes. Woot.

Rating: 5/5 stars.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on 05/02/2016 in Books, Review

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Book Review: Leviathan Wakes by James S. A. Corey

  1. Lilyn G. (Sci-Fi & Scary)

    05/02/2016 at 7:35 pm

    Gaaah, another good review of this book! I WILL finish it eventually! I will. I will. I will.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • embuhlee

      05/02/2016 at 7:47 pm

      Do it!! How far in are you? I didn’t feel the MUST READ IT ALL NOW feeling until about page 300 or so, but once I hit there I plowed through it.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Lilyn G. (Sci-Fi & Scary)

        05/03/2016 at 8:00 am

        Ah, the girl has just discovered the mass on the reactor, I think.

        Like

         
      • embuhlee

        05/03/2016 at 8:05 am

        So, way in the beginning? xD It definitely picks up from there, – I hope you love it when you read it. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

         
      • Lilyn G. (Sci-Fi & Scary)

        05/03/2016 at 8:06 am

        Main issue is it hasn’t caught my attention enough for me to listen to it during the day. Therefore I tend to put it on as I’m laying down to go to sleep.

        Like

         
  2. Zezee

    05/08/2016 at 5:42 pm

    It sounds crazy good. I’d like to try the book since I’m watching the TV show and sometimes get lost. I think I’d do better with the book.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • embuhlee

      05/08/2016 at 8:26 pm

      Is the show any good? I’ve heard it’s decent, but you know how it is when you love a book. xD I’m afraid, haha.

      Like

       
      • Zezee

        05/10/2016 at 8:48 am

        It was okay. I got a little confused about who’s doing what but that’s probably because I wasn’t completely focused on the show while watching. I like the later episodes though. Those who’ve read the book and are really into sci-fi tend to enjoy it.

        Liked by 1 person

         

Leave a Reply

 
MetalPhantasmReads

Book reviews, tags and music stuff

It's Simply Me, Jasmine

Simply just a teenage girl living in the UK, with her own little corner on the Internet!

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

toomuchofabooknerd

forever crying about YA books

