RSS

Book Review: Breakable by Tammara Webber

13 May

Breakable (Contours of the Heart, #2)Breakable by Tammara Webber
Contours of the Heart, Book 2

Read May 12-May 13, 2016
361 pages
New Adult

I went into this knowing I’d fly through it. I tend to do that with new adult books, whether or not I actually end up liking the thing. There’s just something about them that’s… intoxicating, I guess. Perfect for readathons.

This book is the sequel to Easy, which I read and reviewed and loved last year. This book is the same story as that one, though told from Lucas’ perspective instead of Jacqueline’s. It follows the two of them through themes stressing consent, self-defense, and respect. This book opened the background story of Lucas, who while we saw some of his history in Easy, we really didn’t get much character development or true reasons why he was how he was. In this book, everything was made much clearer.

On one hand, I really enjoyed this book. As mentioned above, it stressed consent, self-defense, and demonized victim-blaming. If you want a book that’s steamy and has good morals to boot, read this series. It read as a split timeline – one time line was the current one, the one that was present in Easy while the other flashed back to Lucas’ teenage years delving into his past. Both were entertaining to read and both I feel put a lot into the story. The writing was quick-paced and addicting, and I loved Lucas’s character (I loved him in Easy too, but it was really nice seeing past the enigma he was portrayed as in book one and reading his thoughts as the plot events unfolded).

On the other hand, I don’t think I loved this book like I loved Easy.  For one, a lot of the details of the story were skimmed over. In Easy, conversations happened and we got to read the dialogue. In Breakable, that happened sometimes, but more often than not, Lucas would say something like ‘and then I told Jacqueline about…’ blah de blah. On one had, I understand why the author did this – it would have been the exact same content in both books, so quickly explaining conversations that the reader would have already read had they read book one was logical. But unfortunately for me, it’s been about a year since I read Easy, so I found myself pausing, trying to remember how the interactions went and what Jacqueline’s thoughts were on the situations. It didn’t really take away from the story, but it did pull me out of it here and there enough for me to be like ‘wait, what happened there again?’

And my only other complaint goes for both books: These covers are awful. What is it with new adult covers, man.

So, if you were a fan of Easy, I recommend this book – it really adds to the story from Lucas’ end of things – explains his thought processes and actions and how he just happened to be in the right places at the right times. I thought it was a good supplement to the story arc. But if you haven’t read Easy and want to read this, read Easy first or you’ll be so lost.

Overall, good stuff. Want more. I heard there’s another book in this series following a side character in these books. Me wanty.

Rating: 4/5 stars

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 05/13/2016 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Book Review: Breakable by Tammara Webber

Leave a Reply

 
Mai Breaks the Ice

all my life's lessons... in a blog.

Navigating Worlds

A husband and wife adventuring through fantasy worlds together

A Sky of Books and Movies

Books & movies, art and thoughts.

Delphine's Babble on Some Good Reads

Good books, a loud silence, and a sleepy conscious is the ideal life.

flowlessbooks.wordpress.com/

Happiness is a cup of coffee and a good book

150 Characters and more...

...Because some things in life cannot be expressed with a mere 150 characters.

~Tales of Fantasy and Adventure

a living portfolio of author g. m. cleary

