RSS

May Wrap Up, June Currently Reading

01 Jun

Hello! It’s summer! After a good absence on my part, here I am again! I actually read books this month, unlike last month, so woot.

Overview of Blog Activity for the Month:

Total posts for May: 13


Reading Overview for the Month:

Books:

Leviathan Wakes by James S.A. CoreyUprooted by Naomi NovikBreakable by Tammara WebberA Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin

For the first three, see my reviews above if you’d like to hear what I thought. I really dug them all, but I don’t want to repeat myself. 😛

The only other book I finished this past month was A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin. I’ve been reading this bugger for forever. Well, listening to it. The audiobook was 41 hours long, man. Forty. One. Hours. It was soooo good though. I think this is my favorite one yet!

Articles:

Nothing nearly as academic as last month, but I read some interesting things:

3 fantasy writers to read while you wait for George R.R. Martin to finish Game of Thrones by Constance Grady

Pretty self-explanatory. You’ll notice a lot of the articles I read will come from Vox. It’s my home page. 😛

What I learned from being the only woman at a startup by Sirena Bergman

This one was an interesting read. I agreed with the author about a lot of things, but not everything. But hey, it was nice getting a fresh perspective.

The Truth About Publishing by Ian Irvine

I think this was the most informative article I read this month. It’s really long, mind you, but if you’re a budding author, take a peek – doesn’t matter if you’re going to try to go through a publisher or go the self-publishing route. This article can be helpful (and don’t let it get you down! He’s just giving facts, not trying to be mean!)


Progress on 2016 Reading Goals:

  • Read 21/50 books
  • Picked up books out of interest instead of hype: 4/4
  • Books unhauled from disinterest or dislike: 0
  • 2/16 16 in 2016 books completed

Progress on Book Riot Read Harder/TBR Jar Challenge:

Woops.


June Currently Reading:

Basically the same as last month, plus a new one. Hopefully after finals I’ll be able to actually finish these damn things.

Life, the Universe and Everything (Hitchhiker's Guide, #3)Assassin's Apprentice (Farseer Trilogy, #1)The Time MachineCaliban's War (Expanse, #2)

Life, The Universe and Everything by Douglas Adams
Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb
The Time Machine by H.G. Wells
Caliban’s War by James S.A. Corey

And that’s it! I have a haul coming, too. Got the pictures taken, just need to write the thing. Happy reading!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 06/01/2016 in Currently Reading, TBR, Wrap-up

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “May Wrap Up, June Currently Reading

Leave a Reply

 
Delphine's Babble on Some Good Reads

Good books, a loud silence, and a sleepy conscious is the ideal life.

flowlessbooks.wordpress.com/

Happiness is a cup of coffee and a good book

150 Characters and more...

...Because some things in life cannot be expressed with a mere 150 characters.

~Tales of Fantasy and Adventure

a living portfolio of maremma gee

MetalPhantasmReads

Book reviews, tags and music stuff

