RSS

Mid-Year Reading Madness

01 Jul

It’s half way through what is turning into a really weird year. Seriously, it has been bizarre. But at least I’ve read some decent books during the thing.

At the end of last year, I made a few different posts in which I set reading goals for myself for this year. And very recently, I made another post setting a book buying limit for myself. Those can be found here:

16 in 2016

TBR Jar Challenge/Read Harder Challenge

2016 Reading Resolutions

Book Buying Limit


And here’s how I am doing on those goals:

16 in 2016:

The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien
Weave World by Clive Barker
Storm of Swords by George RR Martin – read!
The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan
The Future of the Mind by Michio Kaku
The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson
Outlander by Diana Gabaldon
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (illustrated) by JK Rowling
14 by Peter Clines
The Curse of the Wendigo by Rick Yancey
Sea of Ghosts by Alan Campbell
Breakable by Tammara Webber – read!
Fired Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flag
Across the Nightingale Floor by Gillian Rubinstein
1Q84 by Haruki Murakami
Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

I have read two. :”D Out of sixteen. Heeeee. Looking through this list, the rest of them are still books I want to read, so hopefully it’ll happen. If I get ten of them done at this point, I’ll be happy with myself.

TBR Jar Challenge/Read Harder Challenge:

Read a book over 500 pages: Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas
Read a horror book: Locke & Key volume 1 by Joe Hill
Read a collection of Essays: Bad Feminist
Read a book under 100 pages: I am a Pole (And So Can You!)
Read a non-superhero comic that debuted in the last three years: Through the Woods (2014)
Read a non-fiction book about feminism or dealing with feminist themes: Bad Feminist
Read a Dystopian or Post-Apocalyptic Novel: Life As We Knew It
Read a book originally published in the decade you were born: Assassin’s Apprentice
Read a book that was adapted into a movie, then watch the movie: Flowers for Algernon (movie in progress)
Read a book with a main character that has a mental illness: Flowers for Algernon

10/24. Considering my goal was to complete 12/24 of these, I think I’m doing pretty damn well.

2016 Reading Resolutions:

  • Read 50 books – 25 completed. Right on track!
  • Complete at least half of the Read Harder reading challenge – 10/24 completed. Doing pretty good!
  • Pick up books because they interest me, not just because they’re super hyped – 24/25 books. Pretty good!
  • Put all my books together – pull from my living room, my bedroom and my parents’ house. Need them to be together! In one room! – Completed!
  • Get rid of books I disliked and/or will never reread again – Doing so periodically. Doing good!

I think this is the first year I’ve actually stuck to my goals for the most part. Maybe 2016 isn’t as weird as I thought (or maybe it’s weirder since I’m actually organized. I have no idea)

Book Buying Limit:

My limit is to buy 1 book for every five I read. Well, since posting the original post, I’ve read four book (nearly done with the fifth) and I’ve purchased… zero books! I’m sticking to it! Woot! I should be finishing my fifth book in the next couple days or so – I’m gonna go daydream about which book to buy, hawhaw.


And that’s it! All of the goals I set at the beginning of the year laid out. I’ll still be posting a June wrap-up and likely some kind of mid-year booktag or something. In the meantime, happy reading!!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 07/01/2016 in Books, Uncategorized, Wrap-up

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Mid-Year Reading Madness

Leave a Reply

 
It's Simply Me, Jasmine

Simply just a teenage girl living in the UK, with her own little corner on the Internet!

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

toomuchofabooknerd

forever crying about YA books

Lainey Kress

BA in English from Iowa | 25 | Writer

stories; from the margins to centre

Exploring stories in all its incarnations

-- Blogging Everything Beautiful --

@jbelkbooks.wordpress.com

