RSS

June Wrap Up and July Currently Reading

02 Jul

JRUJCR

Hello~ June is over and was a good reading month for me, but not so good of a posting month. I’ve mentioned in the past that I’ve started working fulltime, and with a total of two and a half hours commuting a day on top of it, my energy is zapped. I get a lot of time to listen to audiobooks in the car though, which is basically what my entire wrap up consists of.

I’m starting to adjust to the constant tiredness now, so hopefully my posting will pick back up this coming month. Anyways, it’s nice to see you all. Sorry I haven’t kept up with your posts!


Overview of Blog Activity for the Month:

Total posts for June: 4


Reading Overview for the Month:

Books:

Assassin's Apprentice by Robin HobbA Feast for Crows by George R.R. MartinThe Time Machine by H.G. WellsFlowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes

Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb, read for the Hobb-along-read-along (which I have since fallen way behind in). This book was a pleasant surprise. I plan on writing a full review on the thing, so I won’t go into too much detail here, but I thoroughly enjoyed this book, much more than I had expected – 5 stars

A Feast For Crows by George RR Martin. This book was good as well, and definitely one that is going to get its own review. I think this book knocked me out of the star-struck-blind-love I had for this series. I still love it, but I’m definitely seeing its flaws now – 4 stars

The Time Machine by H.G. Wells. I enjoyed this book. I originally tried to read it, but ended up switching over to the audiobook. Maybe it was just the format of the book, maybe it was that really sluggish conversation the Time Traveller is having at the beginning… who knows. I liked it though – 3.5 stars

Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes. I had very mixed feelings about this one. I like it overall but it definitely grinds my gears. This one will also be getting a review. My goodness. This book was both a joy and a chore to read –3 stars

Favorite book of the month: Assassin’s Apprentice
Least favorite book of the month: Flowers for Algernon

Articles:

A universal basic income only makes sense if Americans change how they think about work

Elon Musk thinks we all live in a video game. So what if we do?

How to win at the women’s memoir game

What’s going on in your cat’s head?

What we understand about cats, and what they understand about us

Why average people decide to become terrorists

Why gravitational wave astronomy has physicists so damn excited

Father’s Day: Five things you didn’t know you didn’t know about the holiday

Favorite article of the month: Why gravitational wave astronomy has physicists so damn excited


Since I just posted a mid-year update yesterday, I’m not going to go into my progress on yearly goals except to link the post and state that I’ve reached five books read and can now buy one. :”D Guess who’s going to the bookstore, man.


July Currently Reading

Life, the Universe and Everything (Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, #3)Caliban's War (Expanse, #2)Royal Assassin (Farseer Trilogy, #2)The Forever War (The Forever War, #1)

Life, The Universe and Everything by Douglas Adams
Caliban’s War by James S.A. Corey
Royal Assassin by Robin Hobb
The Forever War by Joe Haldeman

One day I’ll finish Life, The Universe and Everything. ONE DAY, DAMMIT.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on 07/02/2016 in Books, Currently Reading, TBR, Wrap-up

 

Tags: , , ,

16 responses to “June Wrap Up and July Currently Reading

  1. Zezee

    07/02/2016 at 8:57 am

    I’m so sending those cat articles to my friend. Lol!
    I’m way behind on the Hobb-Along Read-Along too. I haven’t even engaged with the group, so I’ve decided to just read the books at my own pace.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • embuhlee

      07/02/2016 at 2:13 pm

      DO IT. Also, yep that’s what I’m doing xD Where are you in the series?

      Like

       
      • Zezee

        07/03/2016 at 11:07 am

        I’m at the second book now. I plan to read it in a few weeks.

        Like

         
      • embuhlee

        07/04/2016 at 8:08 am

        Do it! Maybe we get jump on the third together if the timing is right

        Liked by 1 person

         
      • Zezee

        07/04/2016 at 7:46 pm

        That would be awesome! 😀 I’ve always wanted to do a buddy read.

        Liked by 1 person

         
      • embuhlee

        07/05/2016 at 4:55 am

        Woot woot :”D Let me know when you’re through the second book and we’re in business. I have about 400 pages left in it, myself.

        Like

         
      • Zezee

        07/06/2016 at 6:54 pm

        Ok cool. Hopefully I can catch up.

        Liked by 1 person

         
  2. theorangutanlibrarian

    07/03/2016 at 5:33 pm

    I also thought A Feast for Crows was good but flawed- still a great series though. And I really need to read some Hobb at some point!!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. chemstudyblog

    11/15/2016 at 5:44 am

    read it

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
It's Simply Me, Jasmine

Simply just a teenage girl living in the UK, with her own little corner on the Internet!

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

toomuchofabooknerd

forever crying about YA books

Lainey Kress

BA in English from Iowa | 25 | Writer

stories; from the margins to centre

Exploring stories in all its incarnations

-- Blogging Everything Beautiful --

@jbelkbooks.wordpress.com

