RSS

NaNoWriMo 2016

18 Oct

NaNoWriMo 2016 Participant Banner

Happy day! I’m going to participate in NaNoWriMo again this year, and I feel like it’s going to be an interesting one purely do to the format I’m going to be writing in. This year is going to be a bit different. Yes, there will be a rough draft of a novel and it will go towards a word count, but knowing me and my workload this semester, I already know it’s not going to make 50,000 words.

So what I’m doing to do is I’m going to include my projects into my word count. I’m writing (code), and it’s creating a thing, so I’m going to count it (cry). My projects this semester are two huge ones: Create a text miner that will read in raw medical data and do a bit of machine learning to harvest patterns from it, and create a linking package between a tic tac toe game and a NAO robot that will allow that robot to play the game with a human user. Both projects are huge and both will require so much damn code. So I’m going to count that code, just because I know it’s going to suck up hours of my time in November (and now – I’m already working on the damn things). My novel will be a reboot of one I wrote in 2010, so I already know the general plot, I’m just going to rewrite it from scratch since I didn’t like how it had turned out.

So my Nano plans are as follows:

Text Mining and NAO Tic Tac Toe projects as a priority. I’m going to count each line of code as one word, just because it’ll be hard to pick out words from brackets, operations, etc etc.

The novel reboot as a secondary project, because the first two are more important. D:

So yes. I’m doing Nano, but I’m definitely doing it in a very non-traditional way.

Wish me luck! If you’re participating, add me on the Nanowrimo website! πŸ˜€

 
5 Comments

Posted by on 10/18/2016 in Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “NaNoWriMo 2016

  1. amber @ onlytruemagic

    10/18/2016 at 6:55 pm

    This is a huge undertaking you have on your hands, but it’s really refreshing to see someone mash up the technical and the creative worlds this way. It’s going to be interesting to see your NaNoWriMo progress!

    Like

     
    • embuhlee

      10/19/2016 at 9:57 am

      Thank you! πŸ˜€ If you’re participating, I hope it goes well for you!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. leo

    10/21/2016 at 4:42 am

    yooo i added you- im degaussers!

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
It's Simply Me, Jasmine

Simply just a teenage girl living in the UK, with her own little corner on the Internet!

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

toomuchofabooknerd

forever crying about YA books

Lainey Kress

BA in English from Iowa | 25 | Writer

stories; from the margins to centre

Exploring stories in all its incarnations

-- Blogging Everything Beautiful --

@jbelkbooks.wordpress.com

