RSS

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo | Spoilery Yapping

10 Jan

Siege and Storm (The Grisha, #2)Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo
The Grisha Trilogy, Book 2
Read Jan 7-Jan 10
432 pages
YA Fantasy

– Spoilery Yapping –

Don’t read the following unless you’ve already read the book or don’t care about being spoiled out your ass.

And the award for the most insecure couple goes to! I swear, I’m getting so tired of reading about two people that can’t effing talk to each other when they’re mad. That’s like… the foundation of a relationship, yo. You need to be able to talk to the person you love even when you’re mad at them. Goodness. And not to mention the exchanges they do have are super unhealthy. Both go out of their way to say things to hurt the other. You don’t do that in a relationship either. You be nice.

So aside from Alina and Mal’s super frustrating interactions or lack thereof, I rather enjoyed this book. I’ve decided to drop the review bit for this one, just because it’s book two and it’s hard to do a review for a sequel without spoilers anyways. So here we are.

This book is a rather solid sequel I think, buuut I’m thinking I liked the first one a tad better, mostly because Alina and Mal aren’t being dramatic all over the place in it. And the Darkling in this one definitely wins the creeper award. Yes, let’s sneak into people’s bedrooms and smooch them all over in their sleep. Totally not creepy. (And yet I’m still fascinated with the guy. I should despise him but I don’t and I don’t know why).

I think one of the best parts of this book is Nikolai. He’s just too cute. He’s the one character that got me laughing out loud during this thing when everyone else was either brooding, crying, bleeding or a combination of all three. Nikolai is definitely a strong character and I hope he has a big part in the third book (which I can’t start right away because my shipment from amazon hasn’t arrived yet SIGH).

The pacing of this book is a lot better than in the first book, so there’s a strength that this one has. I didn’t feel like the book was stalling and then dumped everything on me at once this time. But I’m noticing the use of ‘convenient plot devices’ more and more in this series and I gotta say I’m not digging it. And by convenient plot devices, I mean the entire end of the book occurring because it was sprung on the read that ‘oh hey the older prince was dumb, by the way’. No build up, nothing. Just ‘here’s the reason why I’m going to write these next three chapters’. It was all tell and no show. I mean I guess it worked because it fit the prince’s character, but at the same time, it was mentioned in the past tense which rubbed me in a way that suggested to me the author didn’t want to write out earlier what could have caused the end events. Maybe I’m alone in this, but ew.

And now instead of the dreaded love triangle I was sensing in book one, now I think I’m picking up on a love square. Alina, who feels she’s unattractive and dull and plain and whatever… apparently has the attention of three, count’em three male super handsome suitors that range in alignment from chaotic good to lawful evil. I’m sure you can tell who belongs where. But really, for someone who is supposedly so plain, she’s sure good at rounding up the dudes, regardless of their actual intentions.

I don’t know man. Maybe this trope is actually starting to bug me. It’s probably because Alina’s character is starting to bug me – I’m losing patience with her actions and reactions when interacting with other people. I feel like she’s not actually pausing to think about what she’s saying or the possible outcomes. More than once I read the line ‘as soon as I said it, I regretted it’. Then why did you say it. There are checkpoints in your brain, you know. You have a frontal lobe. Control that shit. I’m getting tired of plot happening because Alina said something stupid and then ‘immediately regretted it’. Yucky. At this point, I’m kinda rooting for the Darkling to win.

And from what I wrote above, it probably doesn’t sound like I enjoyed the book, but I totally did. The main character is just aggravating. :”D The plot and setting and all sorts of stuff though are still pretty great.

Can’t wait for book three! I’ve heard it’s rather polarizing as far as opinions on it go. So I’m sure I’ll have a lot to yap about afterwards.

4/5 stars


Happy reading!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 01/10/2017 in Books, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo | Spoilery Yapping

  1. Nicola Alter

    01/13/2017 at 9:49 am

    You listed so many of the exact same frustrations I had with this book!! I got so annoyed with Alina and Mal, with all that arguing, and with the love triangle/square. Also Nikolai was the one character I did really enjoy so I really wish he’d played a larger role! But by the same token I still enjoyed the book/series… so I can completely understand your feelings on this one 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
Aurora Librialis

Auroralibrialis

Arrvee's Book Diary

Arrvee reading this?

Mai Breaks the Ice

all my life's lessons... in a blog.

Navigating Worlds

A husband and wife adventuring through fantasy worlds together

A Sky of Books and Movies

Books & movies, art and thoughts.

Delphine's Babble on Some Good Reads

Good books, a loud silence, and a sleepy conscious is the ideal life.

flowlessbooks.wordpress.com/

Happiness is a cup of coffee and a good book

150 Characters and more...

...Because some things in life cannot be expressed with a mere 150 characters.

