RSS

February Currently Reading

04 Feb

febcr

And here begins my ‘try to make more content’ attempt. Typically I combine my ‘currently reading’ things with my wrap-ups, but at this point I feel like I’m writing a book each time I do that. For those new to my blog, I tend not to do TBRs unless I’m participating in a readathon. Nothing makes me not want to read a book more than thinking ‘I have to read this book next’. It’s self defeating to me, so I just go with the flow and pick up whatever I happen to pick up. So right, I’m experimenting with splitting these posts up and seeing how it goes! If you like them separate or together, please do tell me your opinion. Danke.


Life, The Universe and Everything by Douglas Adams

Life, the Universe and Everything (Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, #3)The third book in Adams’ Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series, I’ve literally been reading this one since February of 2015. Why? I’m reading it out loud with my fiance and it’s very slow-going. I very much enjoy reading with him, but getting the time, the mood and everything to line up correctly is a bit difficult sometimes. We’re both better at listening to audiobooks together – have finished two in the time it’s taken to read this one. Despite that though, I’m very much enjoying this book and each time we sit down to read I think ‘Waah this is so great! We should just finish it now!’ and then we don’t, haha. I will get it done though, and I think we’ll pick up the fourth one as an audiobook after. So oops :”D It’ll happen, it’ll happen.

A Dance With Dragons by George R. R. MartinA Dance with Dragons (A Song of Ice and Fire, #5)

The fifth and most recent installment in Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series, this book is definitely intimidating. I’m tempted to pick up the audiobook for this one honestly – that’s how I read books 1, 3 and 4. But I’m resisting, mostly because I can’t stand how the narrator voices the different characters. Kills me, man. Also, I read book two physically and I remember enjoying it so damn much. I’m hoping this one will give me that same experience. Currently, I’m not too far in, about 70 pages or so, but I hope to get through at least half of it this month. This book is a brick. 1100 pages. I think once I finish it, I’m going to rebuy the copy in the big floppy paperbacks. I’m currently reading from the mass markets, which probably isn’t doing me any favors.

Forgotten Realms Campaign Setting by Ed Greenwood

Forgotten Realms Campaign Setting (Forgotten Realms)I picked this up last week or so in preparation for my first ever Dungeons and Dragons campaign. My fiance is DMing and for the past two weeks, he’s been updating himself on the fifth edition’s rules and forming a campaign for me and four other friends. Having never played before and knowing nothing more than ‘dungeons exist and dragons exist’, he recommended I read through this book as this is the world where his campaign will be set. This particular edition is an older one, but supposedly the overall setting shouldn’t have changed much between editions. So far, I’ve learned a lot and I can now see why there are billions of novels based in this world. It’s just so fascinating!

I likely won’t read this cover-to-cover, just sections that interest me, but I’ll read enough of it to give me the footing to give it a rating at least. I even started making my character yesterday! I’m a gnome. :”D I’m so excited.

The Blinding Knife by Brent WeeksThe Blinding Knife (Lightbringer, #2)

This is my newest ‘oh my gosh I love this series’ series. I finished the first one, The Black Prism, the other day and immediately started this one. Ahh it’s just so good. The magic system is what I like the most about it. The magic system in this book allows the users to fracture light into colors and then use the colors to create things – form solid objects, liquids, so on. Each drafter, a user of this system, is born with being able to use one, two or multiple colors. Only the prism, the character this book follows, is able to use them all. But each time a drafter drafts, it pulls from their lifespan. Using the magic literally kills them faster.

Ahhh I love this series. It’s full of great characters and humor and action and political intrigue and blahblahblah READ IT.

By the way, if you’re an audiobook person, the narrator for this series is fantastic.


And that’s it! For now. There are one or two more I’m tempted to pick up and jump into. I know I have a buddy read or two coming up this month as well, so those will likely be added to the pile. Wish me luck, happy reading!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 02/04/2017 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “February Currently Reading

  1. Zezee

    02/04/2017 at 11:17 am

    A nice batch there. I find it sweet that you’re reading a book with your fiance and funny too since yall blazed through 2 audiobooks while still on Life, the Universe and Everything (which is the blog name of one of my fav blogs. I’m adding that book to my TBR!).
    I’m supposed to be rereading the ASOIF series, but got distracted. I actually prefer the mass market paperbacks for them though. I have ADWD in hardback and I hurt myself everytime I try to read it. I never learn my lesson to not read while laying on my back. It never works.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • embuhlee

      02/04/2017 at 11:20 am

      Hahaha, the amount of times I’ve dropped a book on my face. I feel you.

      Yeah I know! And it’s weird – we read the first two books in the series rather quickly but this one is taking the longest. Couldn’t even begin to guess at why. You should definitely read it! But… read the first two first. xD

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
It's Simply Me, Jasmine

Simply just a teenage girl living in the UK, with her own little corner on the Internet!

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

toomuchofabooknerd

forever crying about YA books

Lainey Kress

BA in English from Iowa | 25 | Writer

stories; from the margins to centre

Exploring stories in all its incarnations

-- Blogging Everything Beautiful --

@jbelkbooks.wordpress.com

