RSS

February Book Haul | #15

04 Mar

Once again, I’ve proved that I might be slightly addicted to the rush of buying books. In my defense, two of these were souvenirs from a road trip this month and one of them I actually got back in December and just never hauled. So there. That makes it better, right? RIGHT?


img_20170303_055057_723

Gardens of the Moon by Steven Erikson – This is the December book. I bought it when I was in Malaysia – my friend there and I went book shopping together and she bought the first book in one of my favorite series and I bought the first book in one of hers… she has since binged the entire series that she bought, reading farther than I have, and I have yet to even start this one. You can see it’s still in plastic wrap, hawhaw. (All the books there were – it was interesting). I’ve heard this book is very dense but very good. I hope to read it soon. 😀

The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K Le Guin – This author popped onto my radar after she released to giant anthologies of short stories recently. I found out that she’s one of the classic sci-fi writers and I kinda scolded myself for never having heard of her before. So when I was away in Connecticut a couple weeks ago, we were in a book shop and I spotted this on the shelves. I figured it would be a good place to start. Apparently this is the fourth book in a set universe of hers, but the books don’t need to be read in publication order. So go me, I almost messed up. Very excited for this one!

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch – I’ve actually already read this one. Did so as a library book though, so when I saw a cheapo copy I nabbed it. Will eventually get the rest. Still need to read the third one.

The Heart of Betrayal and The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E Pearson – I made a bookoutlet purchase last month and these two books inspired it. I’m currently buddy-reading the second book and will likely move into the third afterward, finishing the series. I’m rather enjoying it so far.

Twelves Kings of Sharakhai by Bradley P Beaulieu – This one was a big of an impulse-buy. It’s been floating on my radar for a month or two now and when it showed up on bookoutlet in paperback I added it to my cart. Gotta make the shipping worth it, yo. Very much looking forward to this one too, I’ve heard good things about it. :”D

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard – I AM JUMPING ON THIS BANDWAGON, DAMMIT. THAT IS ALL I HAVE TO SAY.

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell – This is the other souvenir book I bought while in connecticut. It was on clearance! Six bucks for this hard-back beauty. ….I now own three Mitchell books and have yet to read any of them. :”D

The Broken Eye by Brent Weeks – my current obsession is this series. I’m about half way through the second book and will likely pick this one up soon after. I’ve been looking for the first book in hard cover now and can’t seem to find it. Only paperback. If you know where I can get a hard cover, do let me know. Thanks. :”D


And that’s it! I hope… I hope next month won’t be as bad, hawhaw. But I know I’m already planning a HPB trip for the 16th, namely to take my Dad, who has never been there. Wish me luck and self-discipline. Happy reading!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on 03/04/2017 in Book Haul, Books

 

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “February Book Haul | #15

  1. Analee @ Book Snacks

    03/04/2017 at 12:37 pm

    NEW BOOKS yayy! ❤ I've really been meaning to start The Kiss of Deception series, I hope you enjoy the sequel and the third book! And haha I haven't read the third book of Snow Like Ashes either, though I've been meaning to… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • embuhlee

      03/04/2017 at 6:17 pm

      Same here – I like the first book and really liked the second. No idea why I haven’t gotten to the third yet. xD

      And you should do so! Even if you find the first book to be just okay, it’s worth it for the second one, which so far is much better. World building, woo!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. dragonsandzombies

    03/04/2017 at 4:32 pm

    Yayy, Gardens of the Moon 🙂 I love the whole series and started re-reading a while ago.

    Like

     
    • embuhlee

      03/04/2017 at 6:18 pm

      Oh good! 😀 Is it as dense as I’ve heard? Honestly I’m a tad intimidated by it, haha.

      Like

       
      • dragonsandzombies

        03/04/2017 at 7:37 pm

        It is soo confusing at the start and has a lot of different storylines. Lots of people don’t like it. But i adore the world and the characters 🙂 it’s a fantastic series if you ask me, although there’s a bit too much philosophical rambling in the later volumes 😀

        Like

         
  3. Zezee

    03/14/2017 at 8:27 am

    Can’t help it. The rush of buying books is such a great high. Lol!
    I’ve bought so many books since blogging that now I go to the bookstore and feel confused on what to get next.
    I liked Snow Like Ashes and need to read the other books in the series and I’d like to try Twelves Kings of Sharakhai too. Ursula Le Guin is pretty great. I liked Wizard of Earthsea. Have you read that one?

    Like

     
    • embuhlee

      03/14/2017 at 2:18 pm

      I’m going to Half Price Books this coming Thursday. I’ve been trying to not buy stuff in the meantime buuut I ended up getting a couple comics. I’ll consider it a problem if it starts interfering with finances, but it never has so far in the two decades I’ve routinely bought books – luckily I still have that amount of self-discipline. Snow Like Ashes is good, one of the few books that’s ever made me switch ships part way through, haha. I haven’t, no. This’ll be my first Le Guin book.

      Like

       
      • Zezee

        03/14/2017 at 7:23 pm

        Might as well. 🙂
        I’ve slowed down some on the buying cause I ran outta space.
        😮 who did your ship switch to? I only read the first book but I’m all for Meira and Theron.
        Well, I’ve heard Left Hand of Darkness is great so it’s a good place to start with Le Guin. It’s a book I’d like to get and read too.

        Like

         
      • embuhlee

        03/15/2017 at 7:30 am

        Ah I can’t tell you – plot events got me to switch. xD Read it and see if you understand who I mean. You should, haha.

        Like

         
      • Zezee

        03/15/2017 at 5:31 pm

        Lol! Will see then.

        Liked by 1 person

         

Leave a Reply

 
Delphine's Babble on Some Good Reads

Good books, a loud silence, and a sleepy conscious is the ideal life.

flowlessbooks.wordpress.com/

Happiness is a cup of coffee and a good book

150 Characters and more...

...Because some things in life cannot be expressed with a mere 150 characters.

~Tales of Fantasy and Adventure

a living portfolio of maremma gee

MetalPhantasmReads

Book reviews, tags and music stuff

