RSS

The Beauty and the Beast Book Tag

09 Mar

Hello, it’s Thursday. This is me procrastinating a coding project I have due today, woo. I found this tag at Reading Every Night‘s blog and figured I’d swipe it because I have a free hour and need to feel like I’m doing something so I don’t feel guilty for not coding. (So… thanks for posting it for my eyeballs to see it? :D)

Rules:

  • Thank the person who tagged you.
  • Mention the creator; Kirsty at Kirsty and the Cat Read.
  • Match a book to each of the songs/characters below.
  • Tag as many people as you like.

And we’re off


“Tale As Old As Time” – A popular theme, trope or setting you will never get bored of reading

For this one, I’m going with from out of nowhere comes a heroI know a lot of people don’t care too much for this trope, but I dig it. The whole ‘found this person hiding in a tiny city but they’re the one we need’. Let me add in a caveat: I like this trope as long as it’s done correctly. Like, no ‘we found you and suddenly you have all these powers and are super skilled’. No. I’m talking that person still needs training and studying and is unsure of themselves. I like reading about the character growth as the person becomes who they’re supposed to be.

Examples of this are The Black Prism by Brent Weeks, Uprooted by Naomi Novik and The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

The Black Prism (Lightbringer, #1)UprootedThe Queen of the Tearling (The Queen of the Tearling, #1)

Belle – A book you brought for its beautiful cover that’s just as beautiful inside too.

The FoldThe Fold by Peter Clines. One of my few never-heard-of-it-but-I-loved-the-cover buys. It has since become one of my favorite books.

 

 

 

Beast – A book you didn’t expect much from but pleasantly surprised you

Assassin's Apprentice (Farseer Trilogy, #1)Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb. I’ve mentioned this book a lot before, but this book seriously taught me a lesson to not judge a book by its synopsis. I picked it up back when I participating in the Hobb-along-readalong, which has since fallen by the wayside for me, but otherwise I likely wouldn’t have touched it. The synopsis sounds very generic and when I went into it, that’s what kind of novel I was expecting. I was totally blindsided by how good it was and have since been burning through Hobb’s other books. Like I said, taught me a lesson.

Gaston – A book everyone loves that you don’t

Addicted to You (Addicted, #1)Addicted to You by Krista and Becca Ritchie. I didn’t care much at all for this book, gave it two stars I think. Most people either agree with me or super don’t agree. There doesn’t seem to be a middle ground. My main biff with this book was that the main characters were their addictions and nothing more. Like, I vaguely knew that they were human, but I didn’t pick up on any personality characteristics other than ‘I like alcohol’ and ‘I like sex’. Bore fest, man.

 

Lefou – A loyal sidekick you can’t help but love more than their counterpart

Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, #1)Butler from the Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer. Butler well, is just that: A butler. He serves 12-year-old criminal genius who kidnaps a fairy and holds her for ransom. Now Artemis, the main character, is pretty great too. But my favorite is definitely Butler.

 

 

Mrs Potts, Chip, Lumière & Cogsworth – A book that helped you through a difficult time or that taught you something valuable

For this one, I’m going to name a bunch of different manga. They all helped me get through high school back between 2004 and 2008, especially before my senior year when I didn’t have too many friends. Social awkwardness is a real thing and it’s difficult to get around it. I eventually made some friends, but early on it was me and my manga.

Fullmetal Alchemist by Hiromu Arakawa, Rurouni Kenshin by Nobuhiro Watsuki, Inuyasha by Rumiko Takahashi, Trigun by Yasuhiro Nightow, Fruits Basket by Natsuki Takaya, and a lot lot more. I read so much manga in high school. My entire book collection used to be composed of it. I still have a few hundred volumes of it but it used to be so much more.

Fruits Basket, Vol. 1  (Fruits Basket #1)Trigun: Deep Space Planet Future Gun Action!! Vol. 1 (Trigun, #1)Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 1 (Fullmetal Alchemist, #1)Rurouni Kenshin, Volume 01InuYasha: Turning Back Time (InuYasha, #1)

“Something There” – A book or a series that you weren’t into at first but picked up towards the end

The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles, #1)The Kiss of Deception by Mary E Pearson. I buddy-read this with Ace and another friend and for the first half of it or so, it was kinda generic. It got more exciting towards the end though and ended up getting a four star rating from me. I’m reading the second one now and am enjoying it much more than the first one.

 

“Be Our Guest” – A fictional character you’d love to have over for dinner

The Black Prism (Lightbringer, #1)I’m going to go with Kip from The Black Prism. He’s just so funny, I’m certain his company over a meal would be very entertaining. He seems to be a genuinely kind character too, if not a bit impulsive.

 

 

And that’s it!


I tag Ace, Zezee, Analee, NoraOrang-utan Librarian and Alex!

Do it, peer pressure.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on 03/09/2017 in Book Tag, Books

 

Tags: , ,

11 responses to “The Beauty and the Beast Book Tag

  1. Maddie A.

    03/09/2017 at 9:01 am

    I agree with your answer for ‘tale as old as time’. I actually like that trope as long as it’s done well. Sadly, I haven’t read any of the books you mentioned, but Uprooted, The Queen of the Tearling and Assassin’s Apprentice are all on my TBR, so I’m glad you enjoyed them 🙂
    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. theorangutanlibrarian

    03/09/2017 at 4:10 pm

    Awesome post!! So many books on here I still need to read (it’s getting embarrassing) And I love Butler! Thanks so much for the tag!!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. dragonsandzombies

    03/10/2017 at 5:37 pm

    I really enjoyed ‘Uprooted’ and ‘The Queen of the Tearling’ 🙂 The whole Tearling trilogy was really entertaining, if you take away the ending, which was disappointing ;-/

    I felt the same about ‘Assassin’s Apprentice”! I already read the Liveship Traders when I first picked it up, but a friend needed to talk me into it because I wasn’t interested at all! And then I loved it to bits 😉

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. Zezee

    03/13/2017 at 7:44 pm

    Lol! I did this one last year. Thanks for the tag though.
    And I gotta agree with you about fav tropes. I basically said the same thing in my answer. The character development really hooks me to those type of stories.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • embuhlee

      03/14/2017 at 7:29 am

      That’s why I’m holding out hope for Malta haha. Nobody can be that awful through three entire books with no growth.

      Like

       
      • Zezee

        03/14/2017 at 7:31 am

        Lol lol! I hope not. She’s​ too rude. In my fam, someone would’ve run after her with a belt already.

        Liked by 1 person

         

Leave a Reply

 
Delphine's Babble on Some Good Reads

Good books, a loud silence, and a sleepy conscious is the ideal life.

flowlessbooks.wordpress.com/

Happiness is a cup of coffee and a good book

150 Characters and more...

...Because some things in life cannot be expressed with a mere 150 characters.

~Tales of Fantasy and Adventure

a living portfolio of maremma gee

MetalPhantasmReads

Book reviews, tags and music stuff

