RSS

Unpopular Opinions Book Tag v2

21 Mar

Hello, I decided I wanted to make a post today so I found something to post about. I first did this tag about a year and a half ago so I’m going to do any updated version. Check out the original if you want to see ‘new blog Emily’ writing about stuff. Otherwise, stay here for old blog Emily.


A popular book or series that you didn’t like

Addicted to You (Addicted, #1)I’ve mentioned I disliked this quite a few times now, so it shouldn’t be surprising. The Addicted series by Becca and Krista Ritchie. Not a fan. I wrote a full review on the first book if you’re interested but long story short: I felt like I was reading about two addictions interacting, not two people with addictions.

 

 

A popular book or series that every one else seems to hate but you love

A Great and Terrible Beauty (Gemma Doyle, #1)I’m going with the Gemma Doyle trilogy by Libba Bray. I supposed ‘hated’ is a strong word for this one, but it definitely has its anti-fans. I read this series back when I was a teenager and adored it. Since, I’ve seen people try to read it and stop after the first book. But hey, it either jives with you or it doesn’t. At least they tried it.

 

 

 

A love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warn ppl for spoilers) OR an OTP that you don’t like

InuYasha: Turning Back Time (InuYasha, #1)(By the way, Past Emily has a bunch of weird capitalization shit going on that Present Emily is weirded out by. I just thought you should now how much I’m editing these questions to make them normal looking…)

I think this might be one of my only actually unpopular opinions. I’m going with Inuyasha and Kagome from Inuyasha by Rumiko Takahashi. It’s not that I don’t like them or anything… it’s just I totally ship Kagome in a non-canonical pairing. Hawhawhaw. SessxKag 4eva.

 

A popular book genre that you hardly reach for

Thriller, true crime, westerns, romance, contemporary, middle grade… there are a lot that… just don’t do much for me. Not saying I never read them but I tend to stay away.

A popular or beloved character that you do not like

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)Celaena Sardothien from Sarah J Maas’s Throne of Glass series. I’m only through Heir of Fire at the moment so no spoilers please. But seriously, this girl grinds my gears.

 

 

 

 

A popular author that you can’t seem to get into

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1)My answer for this last time was Sarah J Maas, but lo and behold, one of her books is now on my favorites list. Hey, I’ll eat my words. So this time around I’m going to go with George R. R. Martin. And this is a weird choice because I’ve read four of his books and am currently reading the fifth one. I love the story but at the same time I can’t get into the books. I like the books but they’re so difficult and it’s almost a chore to read them. Why am I reading them? So I can be one of those people who watch the show and say ‘Buh the book was better’… even though I’m finding out I like the tv show much better, hahaha. Sue me.

 

A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

Mean girls. Honestly, what’s the point. This is probably the biggest reason I don’t go into contemporary too often. I’ve heard it’s getting better, but I’ve read one too many stories about a quirky but otherwise bland protagonist dealing with a pretty girl that’s mean to her just because. Like, that’s the whole character. “Hi I’m so and so and my dominant personality trait is being awful”. It sends a bad message to young girls reading these kind of books saying that you’re either pretty or nice but you can’t be both. Seriously. Or that if you’re average or below that you’re automatically the nicest person ever. No, we need real personalities represented. Pretty people can be nice, average people can be assholes, and there are so many mixes in between that stereotyping them as one or the other is completely ridiculous.

A popular series that you have no interest in reading

Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss, #1)I hesitate to say ‘never’ anymore, since last time my answer was Throne of Glass but I’ve since read the thing. Same goes for my Top 5 Wednesday post of ‘Books I’ll Never Read‘. I’ve read two of them now, haha.

Sooo, with a big ‘Most likely will not read it’ being emphasized here I’m going to say the Anna and the French Kiss companion series by Stephanie Perkins. Mainly this is due to the fact that I used to have one of these books and have since gotten rid of it from disinterest. The reason for that is that I heard the main relationship in the first book stems from cheating, which I want no part in reading about. Not interested.

Plus, my sister’s name is Anna. I don’t wanna read about her kissin’ nobody.

The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1)As mentioned above, George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series. Martin is a great story teller, but sometimes muddling through his writing is like pulling teeth.

 

 

 

 

.


And that’s it. :”D I have a feeling my opinions are not so unpopular, but at least they’re unpopular to me! 😀 Wait…

 
9 Comments

Posted by on 03/21/2017 in Book Tag, Books

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag v2

  1. ★ Bentley ★

    03/21/2017 at 9:02 am

    I’m totally with you on your feelings about Celaena! I just can’t with that character.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Zezee

    03/21/2017 at 9:39 pm

    Lol at the Game of Thrones answers.
    I gave up on the Throne of Glass series. I just find the whole thing, Celaena especially, unbelievable.

    Like

     
    • embuhlee

      03/22/2017 at 8:00 am

      Seriously though! I don’t need to read about people self-inspecting their boobs every other page!

      I mean, I enjoy the series – the other characters and the overall setting is pretty neat. But Celaena man, I just wanna bop her sometimes. I’ve only read through the first three books though, and I’ve heard books four and especially five are polarizing, so we’ll see what my opinion is then, haha.

      Like

       
  3. dragonsandzombies

    03/25/2017 at 11:57 pm

    I never liked Kagome! Always thought she was really annoying. I used to watch Inuyasha a lot when it was on TV. Had this really cool Intro at some point…

    Agree on Celaena Sardothien. The whole series is just not my thing, I stopped reading after book 1.

    Like

     
    • embuhlee

      03/26/2017 at 2:12 pm

      Which intro? They had a few good ones. :”D

      Like

       
      • dragonsandzombies

        03/26/2017 at 3:15 pm

        I dont remember 😀 i need to look it up. Something deep forest 😀

        Liked by 1 person

         
      • embuhlee

        03/27/2017 at 4:29 am

        Oh I know what you’re talking about!!

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

toomuchofabooknerd

forever crying about YA books

Lainey Kress

BA in English from Iowa | 25 | Writer

stories; from the margins to centre

Exploring stories in all its incarnations

-- Blogging Everything Beautiful --

@jbelkbooks.wordpress.com

The Sleepless Corner

Where sleep comes to die

Tales of a Bookaholic

Book passions, literary loves, reviews, and all things bookish

Books In Her Eyes

Stories Flowing Through Her Veins

