RSS

I’m gonna attempt /r/Fantasy Bingo!

06 Apr

Just as the title says, I’m gonna attempt this booger. It started in April 1st and runs through March 31, 2018, so while a tad late, I think I’ll be okay.

/r/Fantasy is a subreddit on reddit and for the past however many years, they’ve been posting a bingo card for readers to complete. Here is the link to this year’s post, if you’d like to see it and the rules for it in their entirety. Otherwise, the card itself is as follows:

So my goal, first off, is to read books to fill this out that I currently own if I own one that fits the category. Meaning, the only ‘I bought this book for this tile’ exception I will make is if I physically don’t have a book that will work for it. This way I’m not really saying ‘Can’t buy books’ but I’m also prioritizing the ones I own, which I find difficult to maintain at times, unfortunately. I knew in the back of my mind that /r/Fantasy did this every year but I didn’t know when this year’s dates were until I saw the post from BrenhinesBooks on the subject. Gotta admit, I got a little overly-chipper when I came across it, haha. (Also thank you for posting for my eyeballs to see :D)

As of right now, I don’t know what I’m going to read for what aside from Mad Ship by Robin Hobb. Haven’t figured out where I’m putting it yet, though. It’ll be in there somewhere. I’m thinking I’ll do a ‘possible tbr’ post for this soon, once I peruse through my books and pick out a few potential titles for the tiles.

Wish me luck! And I hope you decide to participate, too! 😀 Also also, going through the comments of the reddit thread, somebody made a template for the challenge, allowing participants to add in the titles of the books they read into the squares. I’m usin’ it, yo.

Happy reading!

 
14 Comments

Posted by on 04/06/2017 in Books

 

Tags: , , , ,

14 responses to “I’m gonna attempt /r/Fantasy Bingo!

  1. ★ Bentley ★

    04/06/2017 at 9:59 pm

    That’s such a cool idea! I may join in. 🙂 Best of luck to you!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Analee @ Book Snacks

    04/06/2017 at 11:35 pm

    Ooooh sounds like so much fun!! Good luck, can’t wait to see what books you plan for this bingo challenge! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. Thoughts on Fantasy

    04/07/2017 at 4:13 am

    Sounds fun!! I’m keen to see what books you pick for what squares. Some of the squares immediately bring several books to mind for me, and others have me a bit stumped e.g. for older (50+) protagonist all that comes to mind is Old Man’s War and that’s sci-fi. Though actually I guess anything with a vampire as a main character would probably fit…

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • embuhlee

      04/07/2017 at 4:25 am

      I haven’t even started coming up with them yet, haha. I just saw the board and jumped on it. xD I have a feeling some of them will stump me as well. If you go to that reddit post I linked though, there’s a link of recommendations for each tile in there, which could be helpful.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Thoughts on Fantasy

        04/07/2017 at 4:51 am

        True that would be helpful to have those recommendations! I’d be really tempted to do this too, but I’m not sure enough of my current TBR would fit into the squares and I might have to add too many more books… and I’d really like to get to some I’ve been planning to read for ages already! Anyway, I will watch with interest to see which books you choose 🙂

        Like

         
  4. Chelsea

    04/08/2017 at 6:53 am

    This looks really interesting! I’ll have to take a look and think about joining in!

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
Aurora Librialis

Auroralibrialis

Arrvee's Book Diary

Arrvee reading this?

Mai Breaks the Ice

all my life's lessons... in a blog.

Navigating Worlds

A husband and wife adventuring through fantasy worlds together

A Sky of Books and Movies

Books & movies, art and thoughts.

Delphine's Babble on Some Good Reads

Good books, a loud silence, and a sleepy conscious is the ideal life.

flowlessbooks.wordpress.com/

Happiness is a cup of coffee and a good book

150 Characters and more...

...Because some things in life cannot be expressed with a mere 150 characters.

