RSS

/r/Fantasy Bingo Possible Picks | First Row

07 Apr

Hola! I mentioned the other day that I’m participating in /r/Fantasy’s bingo game for this year. I also mentioned that I needed to go through my books to pick out a few for each category. (Also, as mentioned in last post, I’m going to stick to books I already own as much as possible… and books I put on my 17 in 2017 list as much as possible, too)

From the reddit post, the rules to know about:

 

  • 2017 Bingo Period lasts from April 1st 2017 – end of day March 31st 2018
  • You canโ€™t use the same book or author more than once on the card. One square=one book/author.
  • Re-reads: You can only use one square for a re-read–all other books must be first time reads. The point of bingo is to explore new grounds, so get out there and explore books you haven’t read before. ๐Ÿ™‚
  • The mods will assign ‘Reading Champion’ flair to anyone that completes the entire card by the end of the challenge.
  • Anyone completing five squares in a row will be entered into a drawing at the end of the challenge for whatever prizes we can get together. Note: since I put this together I will exempt myself from winning any prizes.
  • Not a hard rule, but I would encourage everyone to post about what you’re reading, progress, etc, in at least one of /u/MikeOfThePalaceโ€™s monthly book discussion threads. Let us know what you think of the books you’re reading! Also, if youโ€™re looking for recommendations, the monthly threads are a goldmine for finding new reading material.

 

For that last rule, I’ll be doing that as well – I’ve been on reddit since 2011 or so, but posting in /r/fantasy will be new for me. I’m usually just a lurker there, hawhaw.

And again, for reference, here is the card that we’re all working with this year:

So, if you’re interested in participating, or at least interesting in thinking about participaing, I highly recommend reading the original post, where each tile is broken down as to what is and is not fitting and the recommendations thread, which helped me out a lot in making my list below.


The Traitor Baru CormorantAny /r/Fantasy Goodreads Group Book of the Month

Guess who just joined this group, haha. I was looking back through the past books they’ve done and I came across The Traitor Baru Cormorant by Seth Dickinson. Gueeesss who’s currently reading that! ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m currently sitting at just around 50%, which the rule above states I need to be there as of April 1st to count the book for the bingo, so I’m good, woo! Not even other possibilities for this one. I’m just going with it for sure.

A Dance with Dragons (A Song of Ice and Fire, #5)Format: Graphic Novel (at least one volume) or audiobook

This category I think will be to easiest to fill. There are so many audiobooks at my disposal thanks to my scribd account. Going to try to stick to my original goal though and listen to one I already own as a physical copy. What comes to mind is A Dance With Dragons by George R. R. Martin first and foremost. I’m currently listening to The Gene: An Intimate History but had planned on picking ADWD up next already. So it’ll work out, I think. ๐Ÿ˜€

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, #3)Novel Featuring Time Travel

This one’s hard. I’m either going to go with Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (illustrated version) or Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. I don’t have PoA yet, but I have it pre-ordered already, so it should be fine. I’ve been meaning to read Outlander for ages, too. It’s been sitting on my shelf for a couple years now.

A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #3)Fantasy Novel Published in 2017

This one is easy – it’s the only 2017 novel I can think of that I own (…that I don’t actually own yet, but is pre-ordered, woo) and that’s A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah. J Maas. I’m chewin’ at the bit for this one, guys. My life’s blood demands it.

 

Elantris (Elantris, #1)An Author’s Debut Fantasy Novel

There are a few different ones I could choose for this category I think. Both Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone and Elantris by Brandon Sanderson come to mind. I don’t know though – the rules don’t really count rereads except for one…. but all the Harry Potters I’d be reading would be the illustrateds, which I haven’t read before. So who knows what I’ll do for ths one.


I’ve decided to cut this down and do it by row – I feel like doing all 25 categories in one post will bore you guys to death. xD This way I can slowly drain you by stretching it out instead.

Anyone who’s participating, what are you reading for these categories?

Happy reading! See you soon with row 2.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on 04/07/2017 in Books, TBR

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “/r/Fantasy Bingo Possible Picks | First Row

  1. theorangutanlibrarian

    04/08/2017 at 5:59 pm

    Ah I’m excited for Court of Wings and Ruin too! Awesome list!! Hope you enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • embuhlee

      04/08/2017 at 7:54 pm

      Thanks! It’ll be the first time since Harry Potter that I’ll be reading a book right when it’s released, haha. I’m looking forward to it. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

       

Leave a Reply

 
Delphine's Babble on Some Good Reads

Good books, a loud silence, and a sleepy conscious is the ideal life.

flowlessbooks.wordpress.com/

Happiness is a cup of coffee and a good book

150 Characters and more...

...Because some things in life cannot be expressed with a mere 150 characters.

~Tales of Fantasy and Adventure

a living portfolio of maremma gee

MetalPhantasmReads

Book reviews, tags and music stuff

