RSS

May Wrap Up | ’17

03 Jun

Happy end-of-May! This month a bunch of stuff happened – I graduated college (again), I got a salary position as a software developer, I planned out a vacation… all sorts of stuff. And I still have a lot of stuff left to go, yeesh.

Speaking of, I need an oil change. Guess who’s going to the mechanic after I finish writing this, woo.

ANYWAYS. This month I read one non-fiction, two novels and two manga/graphic novels


The Mad Ship by Robin Hobb

The Mad Ship (Liveship Traders, #2)This is the second book in Hobb’s Liveship Traders trilogy and the fifth in her Realm of the Elderlings world. I wrote a blabber on the thing of you’d like to know more fully about it, but it sums up to: I really like this series, but it kills my brain and heart more with every chapter.

4/5 stars

Chew vol 1 by John Layman

Chew, Vol. 1: Taster's ChoiceThis is one of those series that I’ve known about for a while but never really popped into my ‘wanna read this’ list. I found it for super cheap and picked it up on a whim… and honestly, most of the way through it, it basically was what I expected. It was okay. I enjoyed it but it wasn’t anything special… until the end. And dammit, now I want volume two. It lead me into a false sense of ‘this is decent’ security when it was really hiding how good it was ’til the end. Well butts. Now I’m buying this series, too.

4/5 stars

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas

A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #3)This was probably my most anticipated release for this month and I started reading it the day I came out. It was decent! I rather liked it. I wrote a blabber on this one too, if you’re interested. I feel like it was a rather solid (if not predictable) ending to the series.

4/5 stars

Attack on Titan vol 12 by Hajime Isayama

Attack on Titan, Volume 12I’m slowly workin’ my way through this series. One day I’ll catch up. One day. ONE DAY.

4/5 stars

The Gene: An Intimate History by Siddhartha Mukherjee

The Gene: An Intimate HistoryAnd the non-fiction for the month. I’m really bad with non-fiction usually – it doesn’t hold my attention for very long. It’s not the book’s fault most of the time, it’s my own. I just… lose focus. But this one, I listened to on audio and while it did indeed go into the history of the gene and all sorts of experiments and conferences and breakthroughs, it did so in almost a narrative format. It was really neat and I was able to stay focused on it. 😛 So.. props to him for writing a non-fiction a dunderhead can follow? 😀 It was really good and I really enjoyed it. I learned a lot, too!

4/5 stars

.

Everything was 4 stars this month. Hooda thunk.


r/Fantasy Bingo 2017

I’m the template provided by Millenium_Dodo here, which you can as well if you’re participating. 😀

FantasyBingo2017Template.png

So two out of the five books I read this month qualify. Woot woot :”D


Blog Activity

12 posts created (including this one):


Reading Goals

Progress on 17 in 2017:

  1. A Dance with Dragons by George R. R. Martin – Currently reading
  2. The Kiss of Deception by Mary E Pearson – Complete!
  3. The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss
  4. Caliban’s War by James S. A. Corey
  5. The Traitor Comorant Baru by Seth Dickinson – Complete!
  6. House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski
  7. The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson
  8. Weaveworld by Clive Barker – Complete!
  9. Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas
  10. Dragon Wing by Margaret Weis
  11. 14 by Peter Clines
  12. A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki
  13. The Edge of the World by Kevin J Anderson
  14. Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell
  15. The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
  16. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (illustrated) by J. K. Rowling
  17. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (illustrated) by J. K. Rowling

Progress on 2017 Reading Goals:

Complete a Goodreads Reading Challenge of 50 Books: 26/50

Count how many books I own and determine how many are not yet read – Was complete, need to do again.

Discard books I don’t like or lose interest in reading – None this month, but I kept my eye out.

Read all of the books on my 17 in 2017 list – 3/17, gonna be 4.


And May is done, man. That’s it. Time for sleep.

Happy reading!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 06/03/2017 in Books, Wrap-up

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “May Wrap Up | ’17

  1. Analee @ Book Snacks

    06/03/2017 at 11:40 pm

    Congrats on graduating college!! 😊 And omg I have to read ACOWAR! I’m glad you liked it. ❤ Hope you have an amazing June!

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
It's Simply Me, Jasmine

Simply just a teenage girl living in the UK, with her own little corner on the Internet!

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

toomuchofabooknerd

forever crying about YA books

Lainey Kress

BA in English from Iowa | 25 | Writer

stories; from the margins to centre

Exploring stories in all its incarnations

-- Blogging Everything Beautiful --

@jbelkbooks.wordpress.com

