RSS

The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

29 Jun

Mid-Year Book Freakout.png

Wasn’t it just two days ago or something that everyone was gripin’ about it being 2016 and it still being 2016 and it still still being 2016? Now 2017 is half way over. D: Guys, I’m turning 27 this year – I dun wanna!

I’ve done this tag before, but this is one that’s definitely redo-able every year. 😀 And I was even tagged this year! Ann @AnnsReadingCorner tagged me and I saw it and went ‘What! No, it’s way too early for this tag’. And then I realized it was June. AHH DAMN YOU SPACE TIME CONTINUUM.

Anyways, if you’re interested, here is my 2015 post.


The best book you’ve read so far this year

I mentioned this in my last post, but by far it’s the Lightbringer series by Brent Weeks. This has quickly become one of my favorite series ever. It follows a handful of character in kingdom threatened by betrayal and war. The magic system in this book is really neat: The users, called ‘Drafters’, can take in visible light and ‘draft’ it into physical material. Most people can only draft one or two colors. A few can draft more. But only The Prism, the religious and political head of the country, can draft all of them. So those who can draft are assets to a kingdom – they populate the government and the army. They’re taught to hone their skills in a training school. And the more a drafter uses her abilities, the quicker that drafter is brought to death. Using the magic kills a person from the inside out.

This series is so good, man. I’m currently in the middle of the third book. There are four out total and I think there will be a fifth.

Your favorite sequel of the year

A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2)In lieu of just naming the above series again, I choose A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas. I read the entire trilogy this year, and this was my favorite out of the three by far. The first one was decent by Tamlin rubbed me the wrong way and the third one’s plot was just a bit too convenient. Like, the plot-points were all very uh… predictable, I guess. Not super great. But the second one, I loved. Oh, I know that this series has its issues as a whole, this book included, but this book was such a fresh breath of air after reading Acotar.

A new release you haven’t read but really want to

The Rise and Fall of D.O.D.O.The Rise and Fall of D.O.D.O by Neal Stephenson and Nicole Galland has caught my eye. It came out all of five days ago, so that’s why I haven’t gotten to it yet. :”D The name ‘Neal Stephenson’ pulled me in and then the goofy synopsis of this book kept me here. The following is from Goodreads:

When Melisande Stokes, an expert in linguistics and languages, accidently meets military intelligence operator Tristan Lyons in a hallway at Harvard University, it is the beginning of a chain of events that will alter their lives and human history itself. The young man from a shadowy government entity approaches Mel, a low-level faculty member, with an incredible offer. The only condition: she must sign a nondisclosure agreement in return for the rather large sum of money.

Tristan needs Mel to translate some very old documents, which, if authentic, are earth-shattering. They prove that magic actually existed and was practiced for centuries. But the arrival of the scientific revolution and the Age of Enlightenment weakened its power and endangered its practitioners. Magic stopped working altogether in 1851, at the time of the Great Exhibition at London’s Crystal Palace—the world’s fair celebrating the rise of industrial technology and commerce. Something about the modern world “jams” the “frequencies” used by magic, and it’s up to Tristan to find out why.

And so the Department of Diachronic Operations—D.O.D.O. —gets cracking on its real mission: to develop a device that can bring magic back, and send Diachronic Operatives back in time to keep it alive . . . and meddle with a little history at the same time. But while Tristan and his expanding operation master the science and build the technology, they overlook the mercurial—and treacherous—nature of the human heart.

So what: Sci-fi, magic, thriller, time-travel… I need it man. It’s gonna be mine.

Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

Solutions and Other ProblemsIn theory this book is coming out September 7th, but take that with a grain of salt: it’s been pushed back a few times now.

Solutions and Other Problems by Allie Brosh is my most-anticipated release coming up. A follow-up/continuation/whatevs to Hyberbole and a Half, it follows similar themes and I’m sure it’s going to be as funny and meaningful as the first one. I’m super excited for it. 😀

 

Your biggest disappointment

WeaveworldThat would be Weaveworld by Clive Barker. I don’t know what it was about this book, but it just didn’t grab me. I got to slightly below half-way and had to call it a day. The worst part is that this is one of my mother’s favorite books and now I have to tell her I didn’t like it. I still haven’t given it back to her yet because it’s a conversation I don’t wanna have. xD

 

 

Biggest surprise of the year

Shadow and Bone (Shadow and Bone, #1)The Darkling from the Grisha trilogy. And yeah, I know the question is asking for a book, but this character was my biggest surprise. This character resparked my obsession with fanfiction hawhaw, and it came waaay out of left field. Weird. 😀

 

 

 

Favorite new to you or debut author

Brent Weeks, whom I mentioned above. He’s great. :”D Totes mcgoats.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Your new fictional crush

Nuuuupe.

New favorite character

I choose Kip Guile from Weeks’ Lightbringer series. He’s just the greatest :”D AND I’LL STOP MENTIONING THIS SERIES SOON, I SWEAR.

A book that made you cry

None…. yet

A book that made you happy

…this is me trying really hard not to mention Weeks’ series again…

Your favorite book to movie adaption that you’ve seen this year

A Monster CallsMost definitely A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (well… its expanded release was Jan 6th, so it counts. It counts. If you haven’t read this yet.. please do. Get the illustrated version, it makes the book.

 

 

 

Favorite book post you’ve done so far

….hehehehe

That would be my On Borrow Books: A Harrowing Tale of Betrayal post. No contest, man. If you want to read it, prepare to have your jimmies rustled.

The most beautiful book you bought/received this year

That would easily be Saturn Run by John Sanford and Ctein… I’m just gonna link my instagram video of the thing. Man, I can’t get over it!

IT'S SO LOVELY 😢 . . . #bookstagram #bookhaul #books #beautiful

A post shared by Emily (@embuhley) on

What are some books you need to read by the end of the year?

Everything on my 17 in 2017 list, man. I’m slacking. I’M SLACKING.


and that’s it! I’m currently sitting at 27/50 books read for the year, so sliiiiightly ahead of schedule. Now that I’m working full time and spending 3hrs/day commuting on top of that, we’ll see if I can keep up the pace, haha.

Happy reading!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 06/29/2017 in Book Tag, Books, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

  1. Alex @ WhimsyPages

    06/29/2017 at 5:49 am

    I first heard about Lightbringer series from Regan @PeruseProject and it’s been on my radar ever since! The books’ size is slightly intimidating but I really want to get my hands on them (preferably this year!)

    Like

     
    • embuhlee

      06/30/2017 at 5:18 am

      Ah! I can see why the size would be daunting. They’re not super dense books – there’s a lot going on, but it never feels bogged down, if that makes sense. I hope you pick them up! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

       

Leave a Reply

 
Mai Breaks the Ice

all my life's lessons... in a blog.

Navigating Worlds

A husband and wife adventuring through fantasy worlds together

A Sky of Books and Movies

Books & movies, art and thoughts.

Delphine's Babble on Some Good Reads

Good books, a loud silence, and a sleepy conscious is the ideal life.

flowlessbooks.wordpress.com/

Happiness is a cup of coffee and a good book

150 Characters and more...

...Because some things in life cannot be expressed with a mere 150 characters.

~Tales of Fantasy and Adventure

a living portfolio of graham maremma cleary

