RSS

June Wrap Up | ’17

01 Jul

Copy of Base Banner

June zoomed by, people. I’ve been working full-time now for a month and a half and it still feels like my second week, haha. I feel like I’m slipping into monotony, yay 😀


Books:

This month, I didn’t read too much as far as number of books, but I did as far as pages. So I’m okay with it. :”D

Bungo Stray Dogs vol 1 by Kafka Asagiri

Bungo Stray Dogs, Vol. 1This manga I picked up at a recommendation from a friend. She found a person offering book suggestions for one’s friends. You had to send the person a list of manga, books and series that your friend liked and she (I’m assuming it was a she, anyways) would recommend a book based on the given likes. Welp, this is the book that my friend got recommended to tell me, so I picked it up and tried it out.

It follows a young boy (the front blonde dude), an orphan down on his luck, who runs into the dude with the black hair and the trench coat, who turns out to be part of an agency that handles the weird, odd cases that police don’t want to handle. Each member of this organization has a peculiar special ability which helps them solve these cases. It reminded me a lot of the ‘newcomer to the secret society’ trope.

It was pretty decent! A solid 3.5 stars. First volumes of manga (at least for me) are really hard to give five stars. I feel like I’d need to read a few more before deciding whether or not I really like the series or not. But for the first volume, I liked it. It had a decent bit of humor in it – I’d be open to reading more.

3.5/5 stars

Forgotten Realms Campaign Setting by Ed Greenwood

Forgotten Realms Campaign Setting (Forgotten Realms)I FINALLY FINISHED IT! Well… didn’t read it cover to cover, but I read it enough to feel like I have a decent grasp on the Forgotten Realms, plus some plot bunnies for a campaign, so yay.

This is a companion book for Dungeons and Dragons – it explains the land called ‘The Forgotten Realms’, a popular world for dnd campaigns. It goes into the creatures that live there, the landscape, the history and lore.. it’s pretty neat! I really liked it. The art in it was absolutely lovely – my favorite part!

4/5 stars

A Dance With Dragons by George R. R. Martin

A Dance with Dragons (A Song of Ice and Fire, #5)I did it. I’m caught up.

And you know what’s awful? This book became a chore to read after a while, but at the same time, I’m still probably going to read the next one when (if) it comes out. Let me uh… let me break it down I guess.

The story itself is great – I love it. This is what’s keeping me reading the books. The story Martin is weaving is huge. It’s the tale of a world, not of characters. Westeros, the free cities.. it’s all great.

The characters are pretty good too – there are definitely good ones and bad ones and gray area ones, and I feel like each one of them, while not always super interesting to read from, plays a part in this world. Earlier in the books, you couldn’t really tell – sometimes the storylines wouldn’t interact at all. But now, five books in, even new POVs can be quickly determined how they entangle into the world. I think one of my favorite POVs to read from (mild spoiler) is Barristan Selmy. He’s just.. I wanna hug him, haha. Other POVs I cared just as much about, some none at all, but now I can see why all of them are there, at least.

The thing that made this book a chore and why I’ve decided I like the tv show better (blasphemy!) is the writing. Aside from all of the issues I went into in my review of A Feast for Crows (there were a lot), the writing in this book particular stood out to me as uh… unnecessarily detailed. Like, the characters will be talking – on a road, in and inn, at a war camp, etc… okay, so you’d expect the characters and then the background which is full of ‘army guys’ or whatever. But the background characters remain just that. Nope, not in this book. Consistently, Martin goes through each bloody character present whether they’re relevant to the scene or not and gives their name, their nickname, their house, and sometimes even a short history about them. And then poof! They’re never mentioned again. Never.

AUGH IT WAS INFURIATING. I swear – the copy I have is 1125 pages (the audiobook I listened to was 27ish hours). If there wouldn’t have been any irrelevant character introduction (I’m not talking ones that were brought up again later – I’m talking ones that were literally never mentioned again), this book could have been 250 pages shorter. Really.

So this book was alright, I suppose. My irritation at it kinda ruined my enjoyment of it, unfortunately. I still really like the plot and the world and everything, but gah, Martin. Gah.

3/5 stars


r/Fantasy Bingo 2017

I’m the template provided by Millenium_Dodo here, which you can as well if you’re participating. 😀

FantasyBingo2017Template

I’m getting there! Look, I almost have a bingo! 😀


Blog Activity

4 posted created

Apparently I posted less this month than I thought… I want to get a regular posting schedule going, yeesh. @@


Reading Goals

Progress on 17 in 2017:

  1. A Dance with Dragons by George R. R. Martin – Complete!
  2. The Kiss of Deception by Mary E Pearson – Complete!
  3. The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss
  4. Caliban’s War by James S. A. Corey
  5. The Traitor Comorant Baru by Seth Dickinson – Complete!
  6. House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski
  7. The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson
  8. Weaveworld by Clive Barker – Complete!
  9. Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas
  10. Dragon Wing by Margaret Weis
  11. 14 by Peter Clines
  12. A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki
  13. The Edge of the World by Kevin J Anderson
  14. Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell
  15. The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
  16. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (illustrated) by J. K. Rowling
  17. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (illustrated) by J. K. Rowling

Progress on 2017 Reading Goals:

Complete a Goodreads Reading Challenge of 50 Books: 29/50

Count how many books I own and determine how many are not yet read – Was complete, need to do again.

Discard books I don’t like or lose interest in reading – None this month, but I kept my eye out.

Read all of the books on my 17 in 2017 list – 4/17


And June is done, man. That’s it. Time for sleep.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 07/01/2017 in Books, Wrap-up

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
MetalPhantasmReads

Book reviews, tags and music stuff

It's Simply Me, Jasmine

Simply just a teenage girl living in the UK, with her own little corner on the Internet!

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

toomuchofabooknerd

forever crying about YA books

Lainey Kress

BA in English from Iowa | 25 | Writer

