RSS

Top 5 Wednesday: Side Characters That Deserve Their Own Series

23 Jul

Top 5 Wednesday

Shh, ignore that it’s Thursday.

Happy Wednesday(ish)! I forgot that it was Wednesday until it wasn’t anymore, therefore didn’t post this when I was supposed to. Oop. I hope you’ll forgive me. This week’s theme is a fun one – characters that deserve their own series. There are so many. Sometimes I have a hard time coming up with five things to add to a T5W list, but this week I’ll have a hard time shaving it down to just five. Not that I’m complaining. 🙂 T5W was created by Lainey, and here is the goodread’s group if you’d like to join!

Also, first world problem that only bothers me because I’m a ding dong: I write these posts in my living room. All the books I’ve already read are in the bedroom. The shelf in the living room is full of tbr books. It gives no inspiration most of the time since I don’t know any of the books when I look at them! D: /whinewhine

:”D Anyways, moving on

5. Butler from Artemis Fowl
So I’ve only read the first 7 out of the 8 books in the Artemis Fowl series (and honestly, I DNFd the 7th book, but shh) and Butler has always fascinated me. Throughout the cannon series, you get bits and pieces of Butler’s past, but really you only know about the years he’s spent serving Artemis. But if I remember correctly, he’s in his forties, so he obviously had a life before Artemis was born, even if it was spent training. I’d like to read about that. His training master, so on. Maybe he was an awkward teenager who couldn’t boil water before he underwent his training, maybe he was a serious cat person. Who knows? I feel I would love to read another book set in the AF universe set around Butler before Artemis was born. And interesting thing:

<— This is how he was drawn in the graphic novel (which I think is uck), but thiiiis –> is how I’d always imagined him.

.

.

.

.

4. Shinomori Aoshi and Seta Soujiro from Rurouni Kenshin

Seta Soujiro

Seta Soujiro

Shinomori Aoshi

I couldn’t narrow this down any, and I figured since they’re both from the same story, I could throw them on thesame line. Aoshi is the leader of the Oniwabanshu, which is a group of fighters in Kenshin that first show up in volume 3. Aoshi strikes me very much as an enigma, especially when additional characters around him are introduced in volume 8 or so. I just feel like there’s a lot more to him than what it shown in the cannon series.

Soujiro shows up I want to say… volume 9? 10? Something like that. He’s a henchmen of Shishio, who is the main bad guy in that story arc (volume 7 or so until volume 15). What is very interesting about this guy is that he’s an excellent fighter – one of the fastest characters in the entire series, but due to his circumstances… he doesn’t feel any feelings. He’s always riding on neutral. By the end of the arc, (mild spoilers) this has changed and he starts feeling all the emotions he coudn’t prior. And then.. he kinda fades out of the series. I want to know what happens to him! He can feel things now, I want to read about that!

3. Sesshomaru from Inuyasha
Sesshomaru is another one of those enigma characters. He starts off as this ruthless killer who hunts his brother, but ends up essentially adopting a human girl and taking care of her even though he hates humans. From what you see, who throws rocks at his retainer while out of shot and from how Rin (the girl) acts around him, I feel he has a good sen se of humor that isn’t really seen in the manga or the show. I really want to read a cannon story about him (there are plenty of fanfictions, trust me) but I want something solid!

.

.

2. Van Hohenheim from Fullmetal Alchemist
I can’t really say why I find this character so fascinating because it would be a spoiler. But if you’re not already aware, this character is the Elric Brother’s estranged father who shows up here and there throughout the series. And as the series progresses, you find out more and more why he’s estranged in the first place. And I gotta say, his character is fascinating. I know they actually go a decent bit into his past, which is an arc I loved, but I want mooooore. I’d love to read a story centered around him. (Notice I tend to like those enigma characters, haha)

.

1. Dumbledore and Snape from Harry Potter
I feel like these two (and Neville, Luna, etc) are going to be on a lot of people’s lists. They’re all just so fascinating, especially when you hear more about them in the later books, and I know I’m not alone in saying I’d love to hear more about them. The Life and Times of Albus Dumbledore or something like that, haha.

So that’s it. Let me know who you’d want to see in their own series!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 07/23/2015 in Books, Top 5 Wednesday

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Top 5 Wednesday: Side Characters That Deserve Their Own Series

  1. Kacie from Kacie's Bookshelf

    07/23/2015 at 8:16 am

    Dumbledore, for sure! I also chose Harry Potter, but I want a retelling from an average, unknown Hufflepuff!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • embuhlee

      07/23/2015 at 8:44 am

      That would be interesting for sure!

      Like

       
  2. Sam

    07/23/2015 at 10:28 am

    I also picked Dumbledore. I want to know about what happened between him and Grindelwald! Young Dumbledore would be badass.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. Zezee

    07/23/2015 at 1:24 pm

    Van Hohenheim totally. I’d love to read about the adventures he went on in the years before Elric brothers were born.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
MetalPhantasmReads

Book reviews, tags and music stuff

It's Simply Me, Jasmine

Simply just a teenage girl living in the UK, with her own little corner on the Internet!

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

toomuchofabooknerd

forever crying about YA books

