The Audiobook Tag

Book Tag

Hello, today we do the audiobook tag! I listen to a fair amount of them – maybe two or three a month – so I figured this would be a good tag for me.

Also, today is my blog’s fifth birthday! It’s kinda weird when you think about it. I don’t think I’ve maintained anything else in my life for five years yet, aside from like… a relationship/marriage and my overall education. That’s it. So happy birthday blog!


Have you always listened to audiobooks, or when did you begin?

I started maybe a year after starting this blog. So, four years ago?

What is your favorite audiobook?

Probably The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. The narrator did such a fantastic job.

The Night Circus

What is your least favorite thing about audiobooks?

The hit and miss with narrators. No offense against any audiobook narrator, mind you. But sometimes I start an audiobook and I just can’t handle how they voice the characters, or how they do emphasis, something, and it makes me have to give up and switch to a physical book.

What do you think is the difference in experience between physically reading a book and listening to it?

I feel like the difference for me personally is occasionally I’ll miss details when listening, just because the narrator either doesn’t emphasize them or I zone out while driving or something like that. When reading physically I catch everything better. But man, audiobooks are just so damn convenient.

How and when do you listen?

Mostly in the car on my way to work, or while I’m cooking or cleaning or doing other house things. Or simply when I wanna read but also wanna mindlessly play flash games on my phone, haa.

I tend to listen on 1.2x or 1.5x speed. Any slower and it drags, any faster and I feel we lose the style that the narrator is bringing.

What style/genre do you prefer?

My audiobook preferences line up with my physical book ones: mostly fantasy and scifi. I will however use audiobooks to get through books I wanna read but feel I’d have a hard time reading physically, like classics or nonfiction. They’re great for that.

What are some audiobook/narrator recommendations?

Literally anything by Simon Vance – try out he Temeraire series by Naomi Novik or the Lightbringer series by Brent Weeks, both narrated by him. Dude, he could read his grocery list and I’d listen to it.


And that’s it! If you’d like to do this, consider yourself tagged. Happy reading!

2 thoughts on “The Audiobook Tag

    1. Thanks! And it’s really nice – the narrator has the whole like.. santa clausy, warm grandpa-y vibe to him, which works well with the mysteriousness of the book, haha

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment