RSS

Time to Test My Self-Restraint.

06 Jun

Today I’m announcing that I’m going to be putting myself on that ‘Read 5, Buy 1’ book limit thing that I’ve seen flitting around. Why is this?

  1. I officially own more unread books than read books.
  2. I just posted a haul, what, three days ago? And I’ve since acquired four more books and it’s only six days into the month… :”D
  3. I’ve noticed that if I’m bored and looking for something to do, my default activity is ‘Go the bookstore’ not ‘Read the books you already damn have’. Aaaand that’s probably not the best way to go about things.

So yes, I think I need this. At the moment, I couldn’t even tell you how many books I own that are unread. I just know by looking at my shelves that it’s more than half. So I’m going to limit myself, woot. There are more important things I should be spending my money on anyways. Like bills.

My rules for myself:

  • Read five books personally owned before buying a new one
  • Manga count as 1/5 of a book. So I have to read five manga for them to count as one of the five books I need.
  • Borrowed/library books don’t count towards the count
  • Monthly wrap-ups will now include progress for this thing.

So as I’ve stated – I’ve already purchased four more books since my last haul, so there will be another haul at some point this summer including those and any I earn during this limit thing.

Two other things to note:

  • My birthday is in August. Books received from that won’t count as ‘Buy 1’ books.
  • Half Price Books is having a clearance sale near me at the end of July. I’ve been waiting for this thing all year, man. Everything is two bucks. TWO. Not gonna count this against me either.
    • Hush, I know. You don’t have to say it. As long as I stick to this goal other than this gonna-be-horrendous-and-wonderful-exception, I’ll be happy with myself.

Mostly, I just want to see if I can do it. I’m a very impulsive shopper – with groceries, books, clothes… everything. I want to prove to myself that I can manage this thing. At some point, I’ll count the number of books I need to read and maybe that’ll click in my brain better, but for now, I want to see how far my will power can go before I inevitably crack like the egg I am. :”D

Taking bets.

Happy reading.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on 06/06/2016 in Books, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

16 responses to “Time to Test My Self-Restraint.

  1. Blaise @ thebookboulevard

    06/06/2016 at 2:03 pm

    Best of luck to you! I’m tempted to try this myself, but I have a slight variation from this that I’m hoping will work for me. I’m charging myself virtual coins on Habitica x○

    Like

     
    • embuhlee

      06/06/2016 at 3:14 pm

      Thanks! Hope yours works out too! What’s Habitica?

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Blaise @ thebookboulevard

        06/06/2016 at 3:24 pm

        Habitica is a productivity site / app. It mixes getting things done with an RPG–I’ve been a little addicted to it lately, but it’s definitely helping me get things done. You set different types of tasks, and it rewards you with experiences and sometimes drops for doing them, or punishes you by subtracting health for not (or for doing the bad stuff). You level up and can buy armor and choose a class (at level 10), etc.

        Like

         
      • embuhlee

        06/06/2016 at 4:20 pm

        Oh cool! I’ll have to check it out!

        Liked by 1 person

         
      • Blaise @ thebookboulevard

        06/06/2016 at 4:24 pm

        I would love to hear what you think~

        Liked by 1 person

         
  2. Captain's Quarters

    06/06/2016 at 4:50 pm

    Sounds like a good plan! The book sale does seem worth making an exception though.
    x The Captain

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • embuhlee

      06/06/2016 at 5:14 pm

      I knooow. I went last year and it was awesome! I was tempted to just hold off the limit ’til after the sale since I know I’m going and then wouldn’t have to say ‘Oh by the way, I’m doing this thing but totally gonna ignore it on this day’, but it’s nearly two months from now – no idea how many books I could have accumulated in the meantime. xD

      Like

       
  3. Analee @ Book Snacks

    06/06/2016 at 5:32 pm

    Aha what a challenge! XD I have my fingers crossed for you–you got this! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. Nora

    06/06/2016 at 7:37 pm

    Good luck! I hope that you will achieve your goal. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
  5. Zezee

    06/06/2016 at 8:48 pm

    Haha on your exceptions! But best of luck though. I need to do the same. And I do do the same when bored I start shopping for books on book outlet.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • embuhlee

      06/07/2016 at 4:46 am

      Book outlet is a poison. xD It bites you once and then you’re a slave to its powers.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Zezee

        06/07/2016 at 6:37 am

        Haha!! Best description of it.

        Liked by 1 person

         

Leave a Reply

 
Delphine's Babble on Some Good Reads

Good books, a loud silence, and a sleepy conscious is the ideal life.

flowlessbooks.wordpress.com/

Happiness is a cup of coffee and a good book

150 Characters and more...

...Because some things in life cannot be expressed with a mere 150 characters.

~Tales of Fantasy and Adventure

a living portfolio of maremma gee

MetalPhantasmReads

Book reviews, tags and music stuff

