RSS

Top 5 Angsty Romances

22 Mar

Top 5 Wednesday

Image result for hump day wop wop

Happy Hump Day! This week’s topic is angsty romances. I honestly don’t read a lot of straight romance novels. I can think of two off the top of my head and I wouldn’t consider them ‘angsty’, so all my choices for this topic will likely be good books that aren’t categorized as ‘romance’ but have romantic sub-plots in them, I suppose. Well, here goes nothin’.

If you’d like to participate in T5W, here is the link to do so.

I’d also like to warn against any potential spoilers for these books. Sometimes just naming a couple is a spoiler, so I recommend looking at the picture of the book I have next to the post before reading the post in case you want to avoid learning anything about that book.


5. Marko and Alana from Saga

Saga, Vol. 1The series centers around these two and their fight to stay happily together. The whole plot revolves around it. It’s definitely angsty, haah.

 

 

 

 

4. Gavin and Karris from The Lightbringer series

The Black Prism (Lightbringer, #1)This is a romance that is a long time coming. It’s not by any means the center of the plot but it’s in there in a way that you almost long for things to just work out. I’ve reached a point in the series where I’m very happy where things are… but I know something’s gonna happen. I just know it. D:

 

 

 

3. Alina and The Darkling from the Grisha trilogy

Shadow and Bone (The Grisha, #1)This is one of those ships that I shouldn’t like but I do. Like, I did the whole ‘look up a bunch of fanfiction on it’ after I finished the series. It’s so unhealthy but I’m weirdly obsessed with the Darkling. The interactions between these two are just so odddd.

 

 

 

2. Kyo and Tohru from Fruits Basket

Fruits Basket, Vol. 1  (Fruits Basket #1)This one is just plain adorable. I think it only qualifies as angsty because of how long it takes to come to fruition. But hey, it’s super cute and full of drama along the way, so woo.

 

 

 

1. Kaoru and Kenshin from Rurouni Kenshin

Rurouni Kenshin, Volume 01As much as Kaoru gets on my nerves, I think she’s a decent match for Kenshin. Kenshin’s past is full of awful things, which is a lot of the fuel for the angst in this series. And honestly the romance isn’t really apparent for the first… well, most of the series. But it’s like one of those things you know is there but the author doesn’t explicitly point out. I just love it. :”D

 

 

.


And that’s it! Happy reading!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on 03/22/2017 in Books, Top 5 Wednesday

 

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “Top 5 Angsty Romances

  1. toomuchofabooknerd

    03/22/2017 at 9:38 am

    Ohhh yes I was totally going to mention Alina and the Darkling in my list if I hadn’t already picked my top 5! Something about their relationship is just so intriguing!

    Like

     
    • embuhlee

      03/22/2017 at 2:29 pm

      I knoooow. It fueled my hunt for fanfiction sooo bad, hahaha.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • toomuchofabooknerd

        03/22/2017 at 3:45 pm

        Hahaha, true and it was so surprising because I didn’t even expect there to be ANY fanfiction but I found loads! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

         
      • embuhlee

        03/22/2017 at 4:27 pm

        And it was so wonderful πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

         
  2. abookwithoutend

    03/22/2017 at 12:46 pm

    Aw fruit basket ❀ brings me back memories… But I totally agree on the Alina & the Darkling xx

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. Thoughts on Fantasy

    03/23/2017 at 3:49 pm

    Interesting that you are a Darkling fan! I wanted her to end up with Nikolai, but if he was ruled out, I might even have preferred the Darkling too after the way the relationship went between her and Mal…

    I’m still listening to the first book in the Lightbringer series btw, and am loving it so far!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • embuhlee

      03/24/2017 at 4:22 am

      Yeah, I could totally see Nikolai happening too. Basically anyone but Mal, haha. And good! I think the narrator does such a good job with it. πŸ€“

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Thoughts on Fantasy

        03/24/2017 at 4:53 am

        Hear, hear, anyone but Mal! πŸ™‚ And yeah the narrator Simon Vance is doing a great job – I actually realised I’d heard him before because he voiced the Chronicles of the Unhewn Throne series (very well too), and when I looked him up I saw he does quite a few popular fantasy and sci-fi series and classic books. Obviously a bit of an expert!

        Liked by 1 person

         
      • embuhlee

        03/24/2017 at 10:29 pm

        I noticed that too – he’s one of the few narrators I know by name, haha.

        Liked by 1 person

         
  4. theorangutanlibrarian

    03/25/2017 at 5:39 pm

    haha totally get what you mean about the darkling!! Great post!!

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
MetalPhantasmReads

Book reviews, tags and music stuff

It's Simply Me, Jasmine

Simply just a teenage girl living in the UK, with her own little corner on the Internet!

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

toomuchofabooknerd

forever crying about YA books

