RSS

/r/Fantasy Bingo Possible Pick | Third Row

14 Apr

Time for shelf three! To see my original post, detailing what fantasy bingo, click here. To see my first and second row picks, click here and here. :”D


Horror novel

The Library at Mount CharThere are a couple I’m considering for this one. The top three currently are House of Leaves by Mark Z Danielewski, The Library at Mount Char by Scott Hawkins and Bird Box by Josh Malerman. All of them are gonna creep me out, I just know it.

And whichever one I end up picking will likely be read in the fall. Yep, I’m one of those goofy seasonal readers, sue me.

Fantasy novel featuring a desert setting

Twelve Kings in Sharakhai (The Song of the Shattered Sands, #1)At the moment, I believe I own two books that would fit in this category: The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker and The Twelve Kings of Sharakhai by Bradley P Beaulieu. I know I mentioned Twelve Kings in an earlier post for a different topic, so if I end up using it for that one, I’ll obviously use The Golem and the Jinni for this one.. and visa versa.

Re-use any previous /r/Fantasy bingo square

Originally when I saw this, I thought it meant ‘re-use one from this card’. But apparently, it means use a square that was either on the 2016 card or the 2015 card. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with this one yet. Likely I’ll just leave it open, read what I want, and then choose one of the 50 squares existing on the previous two years’ worth of cards and stick it in there. So woo, open-endedness.

Self-Published Fantasy novel

I think this is probably one of the few categories I’m going to have to buy a new book for. The only book I have that’s self-published is Ralph and the Pixie by G. S. Monks, which I read last year and really liked. 😀 (So check it out, btw). But otherwise, I have no idea what I’m going to do for this one. I’ll need to do a bit of research.

Fantasy novel featuring a non-human protagonist

Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, WitchThis is a really neat topic. I had to go to the recommendations thread for this one because I couldn’t come up with any off the top of my head. So on there, from books I already own, I’ve honed in on Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman. I feel like I own other books that would fit the category, but honestly I’ll have to go through them and read synopsis. My brain’s not great at remembering stuff like that.

But as far as Good Omens goes, I’ve been meaning to read it for forever – now I have the motivation 😀


And that’s it for this row! See you soon for row 4!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 04/14/2017 in Books, TBR

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “/r/Fantasy Bingo Possible Pick | Third Row

Leave a Reply

 
It's Simply Me, Jasmine

Simply just a teenage girl living in the UK, with her own little corner on the Internet!

Maxxesbooktopia

A place where books and imaginations spring into life

toomuchofabooknerd

forever crying about YA books

Lainey Kress

BA in English from Iowa | 25 | Writer

stories; from the margins to centre

Exploring stories in all its incarnations

-- Blogging Everything Beautiful --

@jbelkbooks.wordpress.com

