/r/Fantasy Bingo Possible Picks | Second Row

Welcome to another round of ‘I should read this book this year’. :”D Today I’ll be discussing the books I might use for the second row of  /r/Fantasy Bingo 2017. For more details about this, please check out my original post, where you can find the source material linked for the bingo sheet and my post about first row picks, which details the rules for the bingo game and links a list of recommendations.

  • I’d also like to put an update in here: Since posting the ‘First Row’ list of picks, I’ve since finished one of those categories with a book that I hadn’t originally picked… so woo? :”D It was the graphic novel slot, and I read Saga vol 7 for it. Oh my gosh, guys. I need volume 8 now, stat.

But otherwise, onward with the post!


Nonfiction fantasy-related book

Forgotten Realms Campaign Setting (Forgotten Realms)I keep lucking out and having topics be books I’m currently in the middle of reading. This is no exception to that. I’m going to go with The Forgotten Realms Campaign Setting by Ed Greenwood. I’ve been reading this book for months, but honestly I haven’t gotten very far into it – maybe 10% or so. SO I think it qualifies :”D

Fantasy novel that’s been on your ‘To-be-read’ list for over a year

Honestly, any of them. I have soooo many unread books. I’m not even going to narrow it down and pick a title or two for this one – there are easily 60 or 70 that fit the bill. I’m going to leave this one open-ended and read a book that strikes my fancy at the time I go to tackle this square.

Award winning fantasy novel

The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle, #1)The one that pops to my mind first and foremost is The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. This was my ‘gotta cope with this now so gonna buy a book’ impulse buy when whats his face took office. Hahahaaaa and I still haven’t read it. So I’d like to read it and jump on the bandwagon. As for awards, it won the 2007 Quill Award, the 2008 Alex Award and Publisher Weekly’s 2007 ‘Best Books of the Year’ award. So I think it qualifies. :”D

Sub-genre: Dystopian/Post-apocalyptic/Apocalyptic/Dying-earth

1Q84There are a few different ones I could do here. 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami could work – it’s a dystopian I believe. Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel could work. The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen could work… there are a lot here. :”D

/r/Fantasy Big List 2016: Underrated/Underread

Sea of Ghosts (The Gravedigger Chronicles, #1)That list, for your convenience, can be found here. Looking at it and comparing it to the books I already own, the ones I’m leaning towards currently are Twelve Kings of Sharakhai by Bradley Beaulieu and Sea of Ghosts by Alan Campbell. And by ‘leaning towards’, I mean ‘they’re the only two on that list that I own’. But hey. I’ve been meaning to read them anyways, so I should get a jump on that.


And that’s it for row two! The more I do this, the more it’s hitting me that I’m basically dictating my entire TBR for the next year. xD It’s gonna be a doozy. See you in a bit with row three!